Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (614 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
124
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


614 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

MGXO has a super nice balance of dry, smokey, sweet, and oaky barrel flavor. There are hints of marshmallow vanilla along with chocolate, leather, and oak. Some subtle dried cherries and molasses flavor as well. I'm a bourbon fan which may be why I like this so much. There is a noticeable complexity of flavors it has besides just sweetness. There is a wonderful dry element to this one and I prefer it on the rocks at 43% alcohol. Extremely happy with this and will definitely be buying again. Update: coming back to this was difficult at first, I have tried so many "premium" sugary rums since and I couldn't appreciate it the way I used to. Over a few sessions of sipping at first it was just too hot and I could only taste the alcohol, then I added a little bit of water and time to the equation. After breathing and a dab of water I was able to recollect my initial love for this rum with its natural dry fruit/molasses sweetness and smooth finish. It's notably smoother on the finish than Doorly's 12 year and I can say that for sure now.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Mount Gay XO is truly a special rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. This must've been the type of rum that the was the "special bottle" the pirate captain would keep hidden in his cabin. Outstanding.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This was a great rum. Not as sweet as previous rums such as El Dorado, but great. Reminiscent of a good scotch. Scotch drinkers will love this one. Phenomenal complex aroma that gets better as it sits in the glass longer. Drink straight up!

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 14 ratings

Good choice for starting out, not too expensive, and gives you a good representation of ages rums

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother poured me a sample of this the other day. I have spent much more time appreciating scotch than I have rum (this may start to change ;-) It did have a sort of earthiness and smokiness reminiscent of a scotch. I enjoyed that very much!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Nothing too special in my opinion. A rum for your standard evening sip - not the special occasions.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 days ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 167 ratings

Cause it was just a sample it’s a little bit hard to review it, so this is just a first impression. I will have to come back if and when I make a deeper test.
I can definitely imagine digging deeper into this rum.
The nose is nice after warmed up.
On the palate I can recognize some spices, vanilla and chocolate.
The finish is relatively short.
Overall it’s a quite mild and complex rum with a good balance between sweetness and dryness.
Picture: My finished sample.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Neskutečně hladký a jemný rum. Dubový sud se snoubí s lahodnou vůní vanilky, banánů a tabáku. Není zbytečně sladký ale i přesto velmi jemný.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay XO screams excellence. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak. This rum has it all. Almost impossible to pin a style to it, other than it should be what you conjure in your head when you say rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Heliumiami from United States with 4 ratings

I often have my wife pour me something at random from the "cabinet" when I get home after work. Since I have few bottles of rum, but plenty of bourbon, I was initially misled into thinking that was what she had poured, due to the deep, rich color in the glass. What really struck me as I was trying to discern which "bourbon" my wife had poured for me, was how much brown sugar was coming through, in addition to the more staid, but still enjoyable, flavours of leather and old, wood-paneled office/study. But that brown sugar wasn't the cloying sweetness of something added; it came straight through from the distillate and barrel wood. My discovery that it was Mount Gay XO has only added to my enjoyment of this bottle. Blind tastings often help me to discover things in a drink that my expectations might be hiding. Mount Gay has a ton going for it, and lot's more to be discovered.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

There is nothing better than this for the price. You can head upstream but there's diminishing returns for the amount of money you have to spend. I have a bottle of this always. This rum does what many more expensive rums can't, that is remain smooth without added sugar. Compared to the Plantation 20th or the Diplomatico or El Dorado it's not as sweet but it's also unadulterated and more complex. This should be your benchmark.