Posting your rating...
Doorly's 8-Year rum

Doorly's 8-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.2/10 (36 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
15
10
4

Rate Doorly's 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Doorly's 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Unadulterated aged Bajan rum with great natural oak and vanilla flavor. Not as smooth as the 12 year but without being too hot. It has more sweetness and vanilla than the 12 as well and a fruitier younger taste that is very good. Not as aged raisiny tasting as the 12. Another great Bajan from Doorly's. Update: Another way to describe it is like RL Seale's 10yr but fruitier and sweeter. Maybe because of some of the younger rum flavor in the blend. It's not quite as smooth as Seale's 10. However the mild burn works in its own delicious way and brings out tropical fruit into the taste. I like that it definitely tastes like rum while the Doorly's 12 in comparison starts to taste like whisky after so much time in the barrel.Update: I like it even more than the 12 yr and definitely more than the XO. While the XO is smoother and more banana comes through, the 8yr is noticeably oaky and you can taste the dryish bourbon flavor which I really enjoy in my rum. Can't recommend it enough.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

A big step up from the very good 5 yo and maybe a little fruitier than the 12, which is a personal favorite. IDK if there are different barrels in the mix, but the character is different enough from the 12 to offer a different perspective. I like it!

Sugar test-Are you kidding?

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Admittedly, I am a person with a champagne taste with a beer budget. I am always searching for the best rum that I can both enjoy on the rocks while keeping my finances in check. Recently, while at the local “adult beverage” store, I was met with a vast selection of rums. I opened my RumRatings app and read the Doorly’s 8 reviews. I am glad I did! This is one of the finest rums, at this price point, that I have ever tasted. The taste is bold and mature for an 8 year old vintage. There is no reason to go to a spiced rum for boldness when one can enjoy a few sips of this rum. Thanks to all for their thoughtful comments on Doorly’s 8, you have gained a friend. Solute!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

Better than the XO, but just a bit below the 12 year. Absolutely cannot be missed if you are on the search for wonderful rums.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Barbados
Fles: 70cl, schroefdop
ABV: 40%
Kleur: Bruin
Distilleerderij: Doorly's (Foursquare)

Prima rum weer van Foursquare.
Minimaal 8 jaar gerijpt en niet mee geklooid.
Zachte eiken en caramel smaken met wat fruitigheid. Lange zoetige afdronk.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Being overly critical, the nose exhibits a bit too much spirit for my liking. While this is carried on to the palate, the oak is smooth and easy, that the bight of the alcohol is not out of place. A really nice sipper. Similarly priced to Mount Gay Black Barrel, it is far far superior. Has certain similarities to the Bajan rum that M&S buy from Plantation, but without the added sugar. I believe that Plantation get some of their rum from Seale's so that might explain it (but stand to be corrected).

EDIT - the more I drink the 5yo, 8yo and 12yo the more I don't quite see how the 8yo fits in. The 5yo is a easy, soft, unsophisticated and very easy to sip with plenty of American oak. The 12yo has the sophistication and power. The 8yo is somewhere in the middle (inc price wise). Dare I say that the 8yo is a little pointless? Don't get me wrong, it's a good rum, but the 5yo is easier (albeit very much less sophisticated) and the 12yo is better. Maybe it is a case that I actually prefer the soft oakiness of the 5yo to the 8yo.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Toto je taký medzikrok medzi 5YO a XO. Neoslovil má príliš a ďalšiu flasu by som si už asi nekúpil. Je fajn, neurazí, no chuťovým profilom mi pripomína lacnejší 5YO

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 88 ratings

The nose is something I really like on Doorly's lineup, and this 8y is no exception, playful notes of citrus fruits, mixed with wood and a bit of vanilla, what the nose tells you you get also on the palate, with added sweet and sour notes of grapefruit, smoked oak and a touch of toffee, the aftertaste has mix of all mentioned tastes with pronounced grape. As well as 5y and XO, this rum is again 100% worth the money. No sugar added - which is natural for all true Bajan rums. If you like Bajan style you cant go wrong here.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by tot2day from Greece with 19 ratings

Nice aged rum on the spiced side. Hint of vanilla and oak, but not as much. Good as a mixer too

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

A quite typical woody Foursquare rum, it's fresher and younger that the Doorlys XO.
The orange is not that intensive, the rum is thinner in the taste.
I like it, but XO is better in my opinion. It's still a good natural rum for the price, especially if you are a beginner.
It's unsweetened, on Barbados it's not allowed to add sugar.
Would recommend it to beginners, for conaisseurs it's a little bit too simple.

Smell: orange, oak, herbs/plants, vanilla
Taste: herbs, vanilla, oak, some orange, some spice

Sweetness: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Valur (27€): 3/5
Experience level: beginner to amateur