Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10 (139 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
19
54
37
14
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


139 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

I was expecting a more of a sipping rum, but it's a little rough around the edges, and bet used as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Very smooth. Nice toffee flavor. Sweet but not overly done. Would recommend.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

From the outside it may seem uninspiring, but don't judge a book by its cover. It may be just aged for 5-years, but those were years well spent. This is a delectable choice for casual rum connoisseurs. It is a superb choice for young novices. And a distinguished choice for us Captains! El Dorado 5-year has a nice saffron goldeness that warms your heart right up. Smooth every drop. Down the hatch like a champ! Paraded with a mild sweetness with a faint note of silky vanilla-orange, and a quick rum punch that gently lingers... if only for a while longer. Enjoy! And Rum to ya!!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a beautiful reddish tinge to it's amber colour, and with little/no alcohol smell it's very inviting. Even when mixed with cola, you can still immediately taste a little smokiness which provides some richness to the drink. This aged rum gives some nice depth to an easy-drinking smooth rum and cola. One of my favourites.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This one comes in a little lower than the others in El Dorado's line, albeit a pretty good line to be in. Certainly a contender in it's price range, if not one of the best.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

I went to Antigua and they gave us this bottle at the resort we were. I did not expect much, but I was surprised by the taste of this rum. Ok, it is mostly great for mixing, but nevertheless, it is a good sipping rum too. I start with this one before having some better rums, to warm my throat and palate.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Danb0y from Canada with 6 ratings

Nice rum for the pricetag (around 25 $ in Canada)
Very good for mixing, a bit harsh but can be sipped on ice.

Would certainly pick this rum over Captain Morgan / Bacardi Gold (same price)

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This rum is one of my favorites for under $20. It has a floral spiced flavor that is slightly sweet. Just right for sipping on ice on those hot summer nights in south Florida.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

This RVM should be the cheap version of the family, but it is a very pleasant surprise! I didn't think a distillate so refined. There is a spicy smell and a mineral taste to try, for not to mention of the good price. Strongly suggested!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This one will be a little dry for those who love rums such as Zaya, Zacapa and Diplomatico. Nicely robust Demeraran and one of the best buys in the $15 price range.

This one has a different blend of rums from the 8 and 12 yr and is closer to the 15 in terms of flavor profile, with substantially less added sugar (12 grams/ltr vs 30 for the 15 yr). Don't be fooled into thinking the aging is responsible for the smoothness of the 15 yr, who knows what percentage of the rum is actually 15 years old? (Only the blender).

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by BallerAND1P from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Certainly taste the chocolate and banana coming through. Very smooth for a £21 bottle.