Posting your rating...
Equiano 8-Year rum

Equiano 8-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Equiano consists of rums from Gray's distillery in Mauritius (10-Year rum aged in ex-Cognac French oak casks) and Foursquare Distillery in Barbados (8-Year rum aged in ex-Bourbon American white oak casks), which are blended at Foursquare Distillery.

Equiano is exclusively blended and bottled at Foursquare in Barbados.

7.7/10
28 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
14
6

Rate Equiano 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

28 Equiano 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 7 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 7.5/10
smell - 7/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 5.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 33 ratings

This is an interesting rum. From Africa and blended with carribean rum. apparently aged in Africa in cognac barrels and bourbon barrels in the Caribbean.

Reminds me of Legent bourbon.

Drinks kind of warm and a little spicy at 43% alcohol.
There's a thick deep molasses undercurrent with some burnt caramel, clove and raisin.

Beautiful heavy bottle. A nice one to have for a collection. Many talking points

Small 20210319 183208

Posted 10 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 93 ratings

Der Equiano Rum ist ein Blend aus Mauritius (10y) und Barbados (8y). Die Hochzeit hat in der Foursquare Distillerie statt gefunden. Es wurden keine Zusatzstoffe hinzugefügt. Die Flaschen Anzahl ist limitiert.

Der Rum zeigt in der Nase eine milde süße und eine leicht fruchtige Note. Am Gaumen schmeckt man die natürliche Fass Süße und Aromen von Vanille und Karamell. Trocken und natürlich verwöhnt er bein Trinken mit klassischen unverfälschten Rum Aromen. Etwas Schärfe im Abgang mit einer leichten Holznote harmonieren mit etwas Süße die sich dann aber auch wieder schnell in den Hintergrund begibt.

Für unter 50Euro bekommt man einen limitierten authentischen Rum, welcher einen eigenen Charakter mit bringt und sich von der Masse abhebt. Auch im Design macht der Rum alles richtig. Der Berstein farbende Rum wird würdevoll aufbewahrt und ist ein wahrer hingucker.

Ich kann den Equiano für alle Fans von trockenen Rums, die keine künstliche Süße möchten, empfehlen. Ich kann mir den Rum auch gut für Einsteiger vorstellen. Klare Kaufempfehlung. Zuschlagen...ist limitiert!

The Equiano Rum is a blend from Mauritius (10y) and Barbados (8y). The wedding took place in the Foursquare Distillery. No additives have been added. The number of bottles is limited.

The rum shows a mild sweet and a slightly fruity note in the nose. On the palate you can taste the natural barrel sweetness and aromas of vanilla and caramel. Dry and natural, he has classic unadulterated rum flavors. A little sharpness in the finish with a light wood note harmonize with a little sweetness, which then quickly goes into the background again.

For less than 50Euro you get a limited authentic rum, which brings its own character and stands out from the crowd. The rum also does everything right in design. The Bernstein-coloured rum is kept dignified and is a true eye-catcher.

THe Equiano is perfect for all fans of dry rums who don't want artificial sweetness. I can also imagine the rum is good for beginners. Clear purchase recommendation. Try it... it is limited!

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 2 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 183 ratings

After 180+ reviews I am still amazed when I try a new rum that tastes nothing like I have tried before. This rum is dry (which is my favourite type of rum), somewhat spicy at 43% ABV and very tasty for an 8 year rum (not that I expected anything different with Richard Seale partnership in this offering). The nose is so appealing, the dryness, fruitness and toffee flavors are so well balanced the oak. A sip leaves your tastes buds wanting more and a nice warmth follows nicely after each sip. This rum is definitely a must to anyone that prefer dry rums. A definite 9 rating for me. Well done 👍

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 124 ratings

The rums is mix of Bajan and Mauritius rums. On the nose, there is a lot of Bajan features, sweet tones of citrus fruits, toffee, vanilla and muted oak. On the palate there is welcoming citrus fruits, oak, butter, demerrara, raisins. The aftertaste is reasonably long, pleasant combination of fruits and oak, going towards dry and bitter (but only so slightly). Overall, the rum entertains me a lot, it is smooth, easygoing, balanced, all the fruity notes scream Caribic (think Barbados and St. Lucia) at me, the nose is wonderful, the white oak and woody tones are present in all aspects (smell, taste and aftertaste), but they are not stealing the show. No sugar added. Nicely done. I am even considering score 9 here.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This is nice rum. Great color and nose. Tremendous smoke flavor. Raisins, vanilla charred oak, Not sweet. Complex and balanced. Long Smokey finish. Chewy and thick. Great sipper. Impressive.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

Equaino
Nosing Chocolate honey cloves
Cinnamon

Taste
Oak cask chocolate water
Fsq really comes through
Sweet
Bourben cask

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Sorgh from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Cooperation between Barbados and Mauricius. Savoury, dry taste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

I’m sorry but I’m struggling to find anything nice to say about this rum. To start with, it has a very bland smell and neat it tastes more like a cheap whiskey, with a very gruff unpleasant alcohol burn, than a good quality smooth rum. Mixed with Coca-Cola things do get a tad better for Equiano, but not by much. It becomes just about bearable with coke, but the taste is still very generic with no real depth of flavours to write home about.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 6 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 151 ratings

Byl jsem zvědav na tuto kombinaci a za mě super výsledek spolupráce dvou palíren jednak z Mauricia a druhá na Barbadosu. Chuťově moc prijemny rum, kde je cítit v aroma pomeranče a v chuti rovněž pomeranč, karamel a rozinky.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

ve vůni je krásně cítit jemný Foursquare
chuť zpočátku neutrální, nastupuje jemnost, koření, ovocnost, závěr nahořklý