Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable rum

Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable

Saint Lucia | Aged

7.3/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
8
9
3

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

26 Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Philippe Roquelle 🇧🇪 | 48 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Un bon rhum mais rien pour se distinguer des autres. Bon et ordinaire.

Simon Doherty 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Stacks up well against the XO. Beautiful bottle with a wood stopper. On the nose it’s dried fruit, it’s a Christmas cake in a glass. On the palate it’s wood, spice, fruit and sweetness. A very quick burn then more fruit when swallowed. A very very good rum.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 9–12 years ex-bourbon. More oak (than the others in the lineup), but also more cherry. A bit like cough syrup. I feel like they took their worst aged barrels and used them in the oldest blend of this lineup (and saved the best barrels for, say, the 1979) so people would have the perception of quality and they’d turn a nice profit. Probably not, but at least it’s not at all to my liking. 6+

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2928 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Enjoyed a bottle of Admiral Rodney HMS Formidable while in London. Bottle and label design are very nice and high end. Golden color. Vanilla extract and oak to your nose and palate. Whisky like burn at the end. Whisky lovers can easily add 2 points to the score. Way too much vanilla for my taste buds.

Giovanni Bomoll 🇮🇹 | 37 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

honey, cinnamon and vanilla, chocolate, tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel.
-
Aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks
adds that particularly rich, sweet and fragrant flavor.
Very Good Rum

Robert Ferron 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Purchased a bottle of this after sampling the Admiral Rodney original so far I have only had one sip and realised how oaky this one is I find it slightly overpowering to be honest. The nose is wonderful and inviting, the palate is heavy with oak there are other flavours pushing through drowned in a sea of oak! I will have to update this review after finishing the bottle my opinion may be different. But until then I am rather disappointed with this expression and was expecting more

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Made using a 45-plate Coffey still and aged in American white oak ex-bourbon casks, this really rather scrumptious molasses-based rum contains liquid aged for between nine and 12 years. The Rodney chap in question is in fact a famous admiral hailing from the 18th century – we’ll happily toast his seafaring successes with a drop of this.
Nose: Oaky and resinous with dark chocolate, honey, nutmeg and walnut notes.

Palate: More honey comes through, before cinnamon and vanilla pods catch up. More chocolate follows, this time in nib form, before leaf tobacco, oak and a sweet caramel add depth.

Finish: This is where those sweet spices come into their own. Delicious.

Overall: An oaky, dry rum bursting with flavour. One to sip and savour.




Brand Details

Name: HMS Formidable
Company: Admiral Rodney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading