Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
342 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
16
42
100
132
45

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

342 Appleton Estate 21-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Very heavy wood notes from agging. Can be too rough for those ill prepared. A great rum for those that can appreciate the work put into the bottle.

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I had a 2 ounce pour of this rum at Bahama Breeze - if you ever go, their price of $11 is just above cost (this is in NC).

Honestly I found the wood in this to be a little strong, and I actually prefer the 12 yr which is better balanced. But this is definitely one you want to try if you have the opportunity. The empty glass smelled so wonderful that I wouldn't let our waitress take it away until we were done with dinner.

Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) 🇸🇪 | 521 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This is the best rum I have tasted from Jamaica so far. If it wasn’t for Appleton Joy, which I have but haven’t tasted yet, I should have given it a 10.
The aroma is full of dried fruit. In the mouth it’s quite dry but also full of fruity sweetness, species.
As a summary it’s complex, deep taste and a fantastic balance between sweetness and dryness.
Picture: My Appleton shelf

michael 🇺🇸 | 44 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Beautiful color, nose is oaky, caramel, citrus.
Taste is aged oak, nutty, with a dry finish.
Oak taste lingers. This is my first Appleton. Look forward to drinking more of this rum.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 199 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Well this is an excellent rum. No sweetie it is not sweet so Men Only Please. Great up front flavor. Dried fruits, light hint of Carmel and leather. Very smooth and goes down real nice. Excellent finish.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Lots to enjoy here - oak and toffee primarly - plus some mild scent of vanilla. Very smooth and dry. Not sure it's worth the price, however. Better-tasting rums abound at half the cost.

Jonathan 🇵🇷 | 13 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

The Appleton 21 is quite simply the best rum I've had. I prefer it over whichever Zacapa or other premium rum. It is exceptionally smooth and the taste is fantastic.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 562 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

This rum smells great, though it is a bit dry and strong. It's better than the low end Appletons as it has a light sweetness and it's smoother, but I actually prefer the Appleton 12 and especially the 12 Rare Blend which are just a tad sweeter, whereas this is a bit more oaky. Smell and taste includes vanilla, almond, cocoa, molasses, nutmeg, and oak. I bought a 2nd bottle after I emptied the first, and I still prefer the 12 ever so sligthly.

Jimages 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I got this bottle of rum after enjoying the 12 year old Appletons Estate rum, and was not disappointed, it oozes quality, and once finished, will be replaced with a fresh bottle.
I am not sure if it is just me, but I think I prefer the younger brother, the 12 year old just seems a bit smoother.
Certainly still one of the top 5 rums I have enjoyed.
I'm not good at describing what I taste, but this has a nice aroma, and a little sharp but also offers sweet taste to my palate, there are strong hints of the bourbon from the cask it was aged in, and it is a most pleasant and warming sensation when savoured.

Dennis Bergkamp 🇨🇿 | 7 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Výborný suchý rum. Jemné aroma pomeranče a dubového sudu. Příjemná chuť, která je dlouho cítit v ústech.

Jara 🇨🇿 | 326 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Vůně: Lehce rozpouštědlo, dřevitá, lehce ovocná
Chuť: technika, čokoláda, dřevitá, ne tak výrazná
Dochuť: bourbonová, delší
Mne až tak neoslovil. 8,6/10




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Years Aged: 21
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...