Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
309 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
40
91
119
38

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

309 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Very heavy wood notes from agging. Can be too rough for those ill prepared. A great rum for those that can appreciate the work put into the bottle.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Although a drier rum than I am accustomed to, the Appleton Estate 21-Year rum has a sweetness to it that becomes most apparent, albeit subtly, when the burn fades. That long finish has flavors that make you want to take another sip...then another...then another...

Before you know it, the rum in your glass is gone...

So you get another...

And if you share this with friends and family, it is virtually guaranteed you will be shelling out another $120 for a replacement bottle. And your friends will want to know when you bought it so they can come back to "help" you enjoy it.

What a bunch of great friends, eh?

I admit that I am drawn more to the sweeter rums but there is something about this particular rum that just makes my taste buds smile and do a little jig. Makes my tongue feel weird but jig buds, jig. They dig it!

Now I could go and try to figure out what all those nuance flavors are but my palate just ain't that edjimacated so I won't even try. I know there are a plethora of flavors that master blender Joy Spence has captured so I will just enjoy them as balanced as they are.

One minor suggestion for the fine folks at Appleton Estates...the bottle is beautiful and the wood stopper and natural cork are a must but it would be so cool if the logo on the top of the stopper would have been laser etched rather than inked on. This about it?

Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

It's worth every penny! You'll hear whiskey drinkers boasting about the $200 they spent on a bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue. Well, if you're a rum drinker...this is your Johnnie Blue! If you have the means, this is a must try. What does it taste like? It tastes like the Caribbean. The only bad news is that 8 year old rums will taste generic for a while and even some Anjeos will lose their appeal after drinking this rum.

If you gave this rum a rating of 8 or lower you either have horrible taste buds or a sinus infection! This rum is about one of ten in the world that set the bar.

Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 548 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Beautiful aroma, warm and smooth taste. Many layers and long aftertaste. Not sweet not dry - perfectly ballanced. This is rum for special evenings.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

First of, the presentation of this rum (the new bottle) is great, and I must say that I really appreciate a no nonsens brand like Appleton, that treat their rums with respect and no added sugar. This 21 yr. has a nice brown darkish colour and a wonderfull nose that greets you with saplike brown sugar, oak, green apples, sweet tobaco and dark chocolate. The palate is full, smoothe and well rounded with lovely balanced notes of pepper, oak and very dark, rich chocolate. The finish is a mouth watering, slightly dry, but discretely sweet sensation, that lingers pleasantly for a long time. I enjoy it very much. Even though the competion is stiff at this pricepoint, this one keeps growing on me.

Bruce 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Only used in my house for toasting away or home, members /friends who protect our freedom

Highlassie95 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

This is the rum I don’t let anyone else drink. I keep it hidden away for those days I want something special. I like to drink it on its own with some ice. No mixing here.

Tim 🇨🇦 | 80 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A big whack of oak with a definite chocolate (?) funky banana-lite, smooth blast. This recently was released in Canada and I’m not disappointed. Pricey, but worth it. For serious sippers only.

GH 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Purchased duty free in GC years ago...been waiting for that “special occasion” to open. Well, it IS Tuesday night! This specific bottle was sealed in 2013, bottle # AB01492. Packaging is terrific, bottle history included in package, wax seal, nicely done. Across the nose, rich almond, honey notes. Slight burn across the tongue, more almond, vanilla notes. Across the palate, slight toffee, rich butterscotch. Excellent!

laurent 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

(This is for the"old" bottle, with blue metallic cap like on the picture. Not sure the new bottles contain the same liquid...) As I liked the 12 year I tried a sample of the 21 years. Nose : typical Jamaican rhum. Taste : as expected it is oaky... Too much in my opinion, it tends to dominate the other aromas. I did not found it as balanced as the 12y. A good aged rhum but for one third of the price I still prefer the 12y. I am a bit suspicious about this rum : very verrrry smooth, almost artificial and absolutely odd for a 21y spirit .Sugar tests seem to be OK, what the hell they have added in it ?! There are so much true gems and genuine rums, less ""premiumized"" for the same price.

(Je parle de l'ancienne bouteille avec le bouchon métallique bleu. Je ne crois pas qu'il y ait exactement le même liquide dans les nouvelles bouteilles) Nez : typique de la Jamaïque. Par contre en bouche j'ai du mal à sentir autre chose que le côté boisé.... c'est un peu normal après 21 ans mais je trouve que ça écrase un peu tout le reste. Pour moi il n'est pas aussi équilibré que le 12 ans et pour un tiers du prix je crois que je préfère le 12 ans. D'autre part ce rhum est d'une rondeur exagérée et inimaginable pour un rhum de 21 ans... ce côté quasi artificiel me dérange. Apparemment il n'a pas été sucré, mais alors qu'est-ce qu'ils ont ajouté là-dedans ?! Pour le même prix on trouve de vraies perles, souvent plus authentiques et moins "premiumisées"

Captain_Tyson 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Another reviewer summed this up very well, comparing this to Walker Blue. Age, distinction, quality, consistency. Honestly it just felt good to drink! Great nose. Not really funky. Sweeter than expected, in a good way. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.