Posting your rating...
Banks 5-Island rum

Banks 5-Island

United Kingdom | Light

6.5/10 (33 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
1
6
10
11
1

Rate Banks 5-Island

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 Banks 5-Island ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

Banks displays a heat and strong heads taste unexpected from an aged white. I would still recommend it for mixed drinks such as mojitos, but not to sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Not a big fan of your average, vodka-like white rum. That said, I'm a new fan of this one. It's full-bodied and chock full of flavor, with a natural, semi-sweet finish which quickly dissolves into gentle spice. Can't wait to make a batch of daiquiris with this because they will be amazing. BTW, it's great straight up as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

A balanced, flavorful and complex rum. Good for both sipping and mixing. At the UK Rumfest in 2012 they mixed it with Ting (Jamaican grapefruit beverage) and it was great!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

This is one of the best white rums I've had. Very good to mix with.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Has a nice amount of funk about it, not too crazy but enough to notice. Makes a fabulous daiquri!! May revisit my score with further tastings

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by lord13 from United States with 11 ratings

A hint of funk in this makes for an excellent daiquiri

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

as a cheap white blend for cocktails, this is really great and up there with Plantation 3 stats. More Jamaican influence, very delicious

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by dinosaursssssss from United States with 2 ratings

One of the more expensive whites I've had ($30), but worth it. Remarkably smooth for a white rum, on the sweet side but also flavorful with just a hint of funk and grass to give it some depth.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 20 ratings

Not fit to clean your toilet with. Tastes like fragrance, and there is a strong burn. Upsets the stomach... was it drinking neat, but regardless of how, keep your glass away from this stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

In the nose I instantly get a little Jamaican character, just a light funky nose of overripe fruit. Alcohol prominent in the nose. Lightly sweet molasses
The flavor is masked at first by some heat from the alcohol, this one is a little warm for 43%. Maybe some hints of smoke and spice. Some solvent like character in the nose and flavor.
Not what I would call a great rum straight. It has some complexity and some different things going on but perhaps a bit rough.
Made a great Daiquiri but at about $32 for a 750 in Ohio there are better rums for the money to use in cocktails. Overall not bad but not stellar.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mixmaster from United States with 1 rating

If you closed your eyes you may not realize this is a white rum. Excellent mojito rum. Could make an interesting daiquiri. If l had to sip a white rum this would be the one.