Posting your rating...
Medellin 8-Year rum

Rate Medellin 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Medellin 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La verdad me sorprendió, lo tomé combinado con Coca Cola y me gusto mucho. Lo volvería a comprar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not inspiring me enough to write anything. It says "rum" on the bottle!

Posted 15 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is so dry and wayyyyy to much alcohol taste!

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Not a bad rum. Spicy, a lot of tanins. There is a kind of watery taste. It could be better, it's a little bit too hars. I would prefer an older one.

Smell: caramel, dry fruits, vanilla, fesh fruits
Taste: bitterness, oak, caramel, spice, there is a kind of watery taste

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

Posted 3 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 4 ratings

color dorado , deja un poco de sabor a alcohol al final ,dado el bajo precio esta bien !! recomendable

Posted 6 months ago by Fish33435 from United States with 5 ratings

Very smooth and tasty without being too sweet, smokey or spicey. Great go-to rum at relatively low price point.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ron_de_Ruiter from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice rum, slow drink. Friend brought it all the way from colombia! Thanks!

Posted at Sala VIP Avianca Gold about 1 year ago by PirateKingNL from Netherlands with 1 rating

Quite smooth, with rounded sweat taste. This is maybe because of relatively low alcohol level.
Not the worst, but not the best...let the search begin...!!!

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

How on earth do the Columbians produce sweet tasting rums that are still dry? I read somewhere that the answer is in aging in barrels that were used to age aguardiente. I have never seen aged aguardiente for sale in the USA, so I am sure that they keep this good rum for themselves just like in many Caribbean islands. I also read that they add honey to the mixture before distillation, which is more natural sweetness.

For fans of unmodified rums by R.L. Seale, I HIGHLY recommend Columbian rums from Ron Medellin and Dictador. Why did it take me so long, but I thank fellow reviewers who have led me here! This one is really mellow, but the more highly rated 12 Year was not available when I purchased my 8 Year bottle. This one is a tad better than The Real McCoy 5 Year and about $6 cheaper at 3 years more of aging. Call me a turtle, but I am not afraid to stick my neck out and risk having it chopped off.

This dry rum without much wood flavoring is also the perfect one for bringing back to life those sugar bombs and overly sweetened rums that have lost much of their initial great taste after sitting in the bottle for four months. Try it! You will be surprised.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

perfecto para tomarlo puro con limón... siempre bien acompañado de los amigos mas valientes para la batalla!

Posted over 2 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

This is a pretty solid mixing "Rum". At only 35% I didnt get the burn that others note, I tasted toffee, oak and perhaps caramel with vanilla at the finish. It actually reminded me, mixed, of the Zacapa 23 albiet weaker and missing the oaky flavours. The plastic flow restrictor really annoyed me. I think this "rum" (At 35% I dont think it meets the Australian standard for Rum) is very under rated

Posted over 2 years ago by Pawel from Poland with 5 ratings

I liked the color and aroma. When sniffed I recognized some coffee, toffee and vanilla notes. Taste is much worse. Too strong alcohol flavour kills all the pleasant things in this rum :(

Posted over 2 years ago by Joshua from United States with 29 ratings

It's just blah when used as a sipper. It works great with soda or juice. It's ok to have in the collection but not worth buying multiple times

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

So many good rums hailing from Colombia and Ron Medellin Anejo 8 year is not one of them. Very strong alcohol flavor and a nasty burn at the end. Only marginally worse than the 12 year old Ron Medellin.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This is a more flavorful and better rounded rum from Colombia. Much better than its younger 3 year old sibling. It's amazing what aging does to a rum! A more complex rum with vanilla, woody and caramel notes. You could drink this neat but does better mixed in your favorite cocktail.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Ese es el ron de la cuadra Sabroso y para completar la salida con las niñas de medellin de sabor suave y gran textura y te hace quedar bien

Posted over 3 years ago by Miguel from Uruguay with 40 ratings

Aceptable opción, algo fuerte. Recomendable con hielo. Color dorado.

Posted over 3 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Este Ron representa un buen esfuerzo por entregar al mercado otro añejado diferente de la fabrica de licores de Antioquia.... Recibes lo que pagas

Posted over 3 years ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Good value, flavorful. Not quite as refined as her older sisters, but this one is the sassy younger sister in the Ron Medellin family. I always consider her when I am in Colombia.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Nice rum. Not as smooth as it's older brother (Ron Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year) but still nice. Pleasant aroma. The flavor has an initial sweetness revealing vanilla and caramel tones. A decent burn which slowly fades back to the vanilla and caramel. Not quite a sipping rum but an excellent mixer.

I am beginning to really not like these plastic flow restrictors on Ron Medellin rums (and a few other rums I've sampled). Don't see the purpose. Any way to remove these stupid things without breaking the bottle? No? Pity.

Also the cap on this bottle doesn't screw down tight...you get it to a certain point and then it "pops" past. Not sure if it is a defect or designed that way. Had similar problems with some imported olive oils. The problem is if the bottle tilts or lays on its side, it leaks. I prefer a cork. Even an artificial one would be a marked improvement over the current ill-fitting plastic screwcap. Deducting a point for shoddy design.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Sweet caramelly in mouth, alcohol-scents ... No real interest for connoisseurs.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

Une bonne expérience, mais il manque peut être quelques années de plus...
Du coup il reste trop sec et trop sur l'alcool malgré les bons aromes qu'il dégage.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

for me its just a mix drink rum not more then that