Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (65 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
19
33
6
1

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


65 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

A lot of oak. There are some similarities to Mount Gay XO Triple Cask. Almost the same nose. MG XO is more spicy in the taste, I like the Barcelo Onyx a little bit more. Very cheap for the price like all Barcelos.

Smell: oak/wood, dry fruits, tropical fruit (banana, peach, mandarine), caramel, vanilla
Taste: oak, caramel, peach, paper, burned sugar
Finish: leather, spice, wet barrel, dark fruit
Aftertaste: wood/wet barrel and caramel

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeVD from Netherlands with 1 rating

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by David D from United States with 2 ratings

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron dulce excelente para tomarlo en la rocas! Lo recomiendo.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 40 ratings

Aromes vanille, amende et un epu se réglisse dans un second temps.
Manque de longueur en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Bryce johnston from United States with 17 ratings

Not a bad sipper. I think I like the imperial better than imperial onyx. But still great on the rocks

Ffffff

Posted at Tim Hortons 11 days ago by Tim Kush from Canada with 2 ratings

I liked it. It was ok. I'd buy it again. Used mainly with ginger beer as the mix