Posting your rating...
Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year rum

Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year

Martinique | Agricole | 45.0% ABV

6.5/10
26 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
4
3
11
2

Rate Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

This was my first agricole and it took many more agricoles and cachacas before I embracd the flavor profile, now I search for them everywhere. Depaz Blue Cane Agricole is a well balanced rum with a hint of oak.

Bottle: Simple, tasteful.
Color: Very light brown, slightly yellow.
Bottle Aroma: Immediate grassy, earthy must, slight oak.
Glass Aroma: Agricole style starts to open up, slight alcohol odor.
Taste: Similar to a cachaca, light flavor with a slow transition to the heat, very mild oak throughout, light heat in the throat.

Very, very drinkable rum and an excellent oak balance. I have come back to this rum and am glad to have done so.

Small screen shot 2021 01 27 at 1.10.11 pm

Posted 11 months ago by Maximilliano from United States with 7 ratings

Sadly, this ambitious U.S. release is no longer produced, and was available at a time when practically nobody in North America was drinking agricole rum - hence the slightly subdued profile. However, having said that, this rum works wonders in the mix and proved to be a fantastic all-rounder with an above-average taste and mixability factor. On the nose, there's subtle, light grassiness with twangs of oak wood and a certain undercurrent of earthiness to it. On the plate, it may seem soft for 90 proof, but the mid opens up with some subtle peppery spice and woody earthiness which is quite pleasant. Finish is dry and lingering with a touch of black pepper. In the mix, it totally shines - makes a fabulous Daiquiri or Ti Punch and slowly evolves into a very characterful and complex number with a great body and balance of flavors - particularly on the finish where the earthy, grassy, barrel-like notes push through and integrate well. I really miss this rum and thought the blend was (and still is) a perfect introduction to the agricole style for Americans. If you happen to see an old bottle on the shelf (list price was $40) snap it up!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2839 ratings

I bought a bottle of Depaz Blue Cane Amber Rhum based on the largest liquor stores recommendation in Manhattan and what a disappointment. There are so many better flavored Rhum Agricole's out there, so skip this one. Nasty burn and very off putting flavors.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Being an AOC rhun made from cane juice instead of molasses, this is going to
taste substantially different from most rums.

It has a grassy, vegetal taste and reminds me a lot of a tequila. At first when I got my bottle I wasn't a fan, but either it grew on me or oxidation changed the taste more to my liking because now I find it quite interesting.

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by Mujuru from United States with 88 ratings

I found this rum literally collecting dust on the back shelf of a small liquor store on sale for $20. I did a quick search which revealed it to be a special produced light aged AOC Agricole. It comes from one of the “less known” Agricole producers. So at $20 for 750ml I snapped it up. Reviews of this rum are scarce but led me to believe it might not be a top-of-the-list rum to my tastes, so it sat in my cabinet for over a year. Recently I finished one of my Agricole mixing rums so I decided to bring this out of storage and give it a try.

This rum is a light aged AOC Agricole from Martinique. It contains no additives of any sort. Specific details are hard-ish to track down on this rhum, but from what I can tell this is an Agricole distilled from fresh blue sugar cane juice and aged 2 years in what I am almost certain is French oak. Apparently, this rum was specially created for the burgeoning American market that knew nothing about Rhum Agricole at the time. Being a light aged Agricole how does it compare to other Agricoles?

A whiff on the nose initially reveals very strong vanilla, like, in your face vanilla. Behind that is a fresh creamy note like berries, specifically raspberries, in whipped cream. The scent then transitions to hard cider and white grape juice followed by French brandy. The overall presentation is quite pleasing and perfectly synchronized. So far this is better than I anticipated.

Taking a sip initially I get Apple brandy followed by raw unrefined sugar. After that is a flood of fresh baked vanilla custard, followed by notes of butterscotch. Behind that is just a slight black peppery French oak note which transitions into a sour malt whiskey note (not bourbon; more like Irish whiskey almost distinctly Jameson)

The palate fades into what I can only describe as a multitiered, recurring finish. It’s actually unique among rums I have had thus far. First, as the palate fades I get black pepper with faint apple brandy, almost like a note between Neisson and Hampden. That note then transitions into vanilla followed by a hard to describe savory umami note. As my mouth dries I am reminded of dry haybarn and old musty leather funk. At first I thought that was the end of it…but then a raw sugar cane note slowly built up accompanied by malt (like a malt milkshake). Then vanilla and black pepper came rushing back…on the finish. I don’t think I have experienced anything like that on a rum before.

Overall, this easily defies expectations. I can’t find any information but I will get bottom dollar this is aged in French oak. It is much, much better than I anticipated. It doesn’t carry quite the flavor punch of a longer aged French oak rum like Neisson Reserve Speciale does, but what it does bring is a very well synchronized, high harmonious, and delightful flavor combination that well defies expectations. Even if it doesn’t measure up to the much longer aged Neisson Reserve Speciale (to my tastes) it is significantly better than any other light aged Agricole I have had to date. One review says that it doesn’t hold up to Neisson Eleve Sous Bois, but I very much beg to differ. To my tastes this is significantly better than it’s Neisson comparable. This is really quite a surprise. I did not anticipate this bargain-buy, dust collecting, smaller Agricole distillery rum to be this complex and synchronized. This really makes me curious about Depaz’s other distillates.

Unfortunately, it seems this particular bottling is no longer in production which is a real shame because, if I had to pick among the light aged Agricoles (JM, Clement, Neisson etc) this would be my pick. What a great bargain find in the dust collecting sale section!

Short Description: if Jameson produced a Rhum Agricole and nailed it on the first attempt. Alternately: Live from Martinique! Neisson featuring an appearance by Hampden, a Jameson production.

Nose: Very strong vanilla, berries in whipped cream, hard cider, white grape juice, brandy

Palate: Apple brandy, raw cane sugar, vanilla custard, butterscotch, light French oak, short lasting sour malt note

Finish: multitiered - black pepper with faint apple brandy, vanilla, savory umami note, dried hay, old musty leather, after a while raw cane sugar, malt, vanilla and black pepper again

Country of Origin: Martinique

Region: Saint Pierre / Mount Pelee

Distillery: Depaz

ABV: 45%

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Gumbopirate from United States with 9 ratings

There are much better Depaz rums than this one, but this is the only one I can find locally. Definite sugar cane smell and taste.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by CSG from United States with 33 ratings

Elements of grass, oak, and honey. Perfectly balanced with a natural underlying sweetness, so while it’s definitely more dry proving it’s an agricole, it is also an undisputed rum. Floral notes too. What makes this one so great is the combination of these complexities with all being present, with none dominating any other, and a super-smooth drinkability which almost makes you forget it’s a spirit. Must be the blue cane; I’ve never had an agricole quite like this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mc from United States with 61 ratings

Hash and unbalanced. Surprisingly from a maker with many different options. Undrinkable neat, unfriendly on the rocks, unfortunately harsh even with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Yves Calvert from United States with 4 ratings

My favorite rhum to drink! Makes the best Mohito!
Has the best flavor of them all!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by gdtrfb from United States with 32 ratings

light in body, little burn, dry overall. Interesting to try. The French styles are not for everyone.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For an agricol it hard labor and it's smooth, taste far from rubbing alcohol that many agricol are.