Posting your rating...
Damoiseau VSOP rum

Damoiseau VSOP

Guadeloupe | Aged

7.2/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
9
9
1

Rate Damoiseau VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Damoiseau VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

I have the 8yo and the 15yo in the old green bottles and it can’t compete with them of course.
But it’s really not bad at all. I think that the fruitiness dominates especially in nose and afterburn. Besides that it’s oaky and spicy.
Picture: My VSOP together with my other Damoiseau Rhums

Small f94167204d84d557ee11bb52a65ed613

Posted 15 days ago by Vestty from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

The first agricole I've tasted, that tastes a lot more like regular aged molasses rum. Still a bit of that acetone smell that is normal for agricole and some of that funk, but it all feels muted. I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing but I like it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

42% but feels a little hotter. Starts off with a big nose of oak and leather. Once it breathes the sugars start to come through along with a bit of orange peel and the oak turns to vanilla. Give it more time and a scent of cut grass and pineapple make an appearance.
Sipped it lights the tongue up with heat. It's stringant from the oak, viscous, smokey and sweet. The cane is not missing one bit here and finishes with dark chocolate caramel. It lingers too.
Overall fantastic and does not disappoint on any level.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Well, it's a good rum all around with fine notes of cocoa and wood. Long aftertaste, balanced, a little bit too dry.

Small 1612468679129

Posted 1 month ago by Montana from Germany with 40 ratings

A very fruity smell, sweet, light alcoholic and sharp. The taste is sweet, light flowery and alcoholic, quite nice. The finish is medium long.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

Nice dark gold agricole from real sugarcane. Not a long aged rum but gives you the typical French island rum hues. Not for everyone but would make a hell of a good authentic Ruhm Ti punch.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

A solid agricole. Subtle floral and grass notes. Very smooth. Decent balance. Nice sugar and coffee notes that stay on the pallet. Oak and tobacco in the background also. Finish is very good but not quite as good as the XO. Very drinkable. Better on ice than neat.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

Very aromatic nose with grasy notes.
A light taste with nice aftertaste. I think this is a great agricole, but I could cry because of the dilution.
I would prefer more intensive taste and smell, it's way too light for me with 42%.
I think 55% would be much better.
I see this rhum at 7.5, because of the dilution.
With 55% or cask strength it would get a 9 or even a 10.
Too bad, in the aftertaste this rum shows so much potential. I could Imagine it's beauty at cask strength.

Smell: fermented sugar cane, citrus, grasy notes, earth/barrel, sour smell, pepper
Taste: citrus, watery, vanilla, some paper/grasy notes
Finish: some bitterness, spice, some salt and pepper
Aftertaste: green and sour apples, orange, pepper, floral notes (tasty)

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (35€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

Such a different blend of two types of rum .
Charcoal flavours followed by citrus fruits ... Makes a good Manhattan. ..

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 95 ratings

This aged agricole is fine really well, with strong vanilla and smooth notes instead of the typical woodiness of many aged agricoles