Posting your rating...
Pitu Light Cachaca rum

Pitu Light Cachaca

Brazil | Cachaca

3.7/10 (27 ratings)
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
10
4
1
1

Rate Pitu Light Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Pitu Light Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

If you see a shrimp on a bottle just leave !

Terrible even in Caipirinhas ...

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N: Vegetal funkiness
P: Gasoline and poprocks.
F: Funk
I didn't think this stuff was too bad. Absolutely not for sipping, but that's not what cachaca's for! It's for producing en masse and for upping your tropical drink game. If I had to guess, I think a lot of people hate this because it combines the raw veggi-ness of cachaca with a funk reminiscent of Jamaican rum. As such, if you're not ready for it, this stuff will slap you in the face. Hard. If you're open minded though, it makes a rather spunky caipirinha!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

Widely used for Caipirinha, maybe that is why Caipi often has bad Reputation?
Bought one bottle once, and it is still well filled after years. It was my first Cachaca, and because I thought it was a reference I sneered at Cachaca in general for a long time.
So: Just use another one, this is the Bacardi of Cachacas!
I prefer Cachaca 51.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Definitely not my favorite cachaca. Quite aromatic in the nose but way too aggressive in mouth.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by kai from Germany with 9 ratings

Its not drinkable. I can hardly discribe the burning smell and taste. Gasoline or clinical spiritus? In Germany Pitu is generally synonymous to Cachaca. Thus most of my friends didn't like Caipirinha until they drunk some at my place with Cachaca other then Pitu.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

Granted this is the only cachaca I have had and personally I am still on the fence about whether I consider cachaca to even be rum (yes I understand that technically it is; I just don't personally think of it in the same way that I do all other rums). Regardless, if this is "rum", I suppose its perfectly fine for making caipirinhas but I can't think of really any other use for it. I tried it once straight and it tastes like someone fermented tropical fruits and then lit them on fire...inside my mouth. I briefly detected some interesting notes before I started coughing. Yet, as mentioned this works just fine for making caipirinhas, its just hard to review it as a "rum".

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

Maybe for caipirinha if you want to get hangover the next day.
I do not recommend.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 19 ratings

Cachaca pitu is the "Bacardi superior" of cachaca's. Not for sipping, but for making mediocre (at best) caipirinhas.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 72 ratings

With the Olympics going on I thought it would be cool to make some Caipirinhas in honor of it being held in Brazil. The clerk at Specs said this one was his favorite cachaca and boy could I not be more disappointed (with the clerk for recommending and myself for not doing my research first). It has almost no flavor and what flavor it does have is quite harsh. Even the lime juice and sugar was having a hard time cutting through it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Gasoliney industrial cachaca, almost anything is better. Ypioca is about the same price and much better.