Posting your rating...
Pusser's 15-Year rum

Pusser's 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

8.7/10
14 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4
4

Rate Pusser's 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Pusser's 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

I waited patiently when the original Pussers 15 ended, which was one of my favorite rums. I thought I was getting the last of the original batch when I ordered a case, and was shipped the new batch. It’s happened several times as many online sellers still display the old range label. I was so disappointed over a year ago I would have rated the new rum less but once again my shipment arrived with the new rum.

So unbiased this time this rum has a great dark amber color and easy nose, I’m thinking hint of the double wood still Port Mourant nose. Slightly sweet and easy on first taste, actually very nice but wishing it had more depth as a cask strength. Bottled at 40%, I’m thinking it could be so much better if not diluted down. Anyway very smooth finish nothing to complain about. Second taste I let stay on the tongue longer and get the Port Mourant flavor I initially smelled.

A very solid good rum but with Florida retailers asking close to $90, I feel it’s more worthy of a $60 price. I will buy it again but only at lower price.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 3 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

This is a great rum that from now on will have a place in my rumbar.
I would say if you like the other rum in Pusser’s range you will also like this one.
The same goes for if you like the El Dorado 12 or/and 15, but think they are a little too sweet.
If you compare it with the old 15yo, Nelson’s Blood, it’s not nearly as sweet and there’s a lot more Port Mourant rum in it and besides that, are also the rest of the rum from DDL.
From the aroma in nose to the medium long finish it’s possible to recognize fruits, caramel, hints of tobacco, vanilla, licorice, pepper and besides this of course Demerara sugar.
Overall it’s a very good rum, probably quite long from what a navy rum tasted way back in time. If you want to taste something more like that you have to go to the Gunpowder Proof, I suppose.
Pictures: My Pusser’s shelf & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

Pusser's has had multiple limited 15 year expressions. This one, according to them, is purely from Guyana, 40% ABV; and seems to have minimal added sweeteners compared to previous incarnations.

Because it's already sold out as of this writing, I assume you're looking as a curiosity, or trying to decide whether to pay an inflated secondary market price. (I paid about $86 USD versus the $70 USD MSRP, not TOO bad...) I'm afraid I can't make it easy for you.

I really like Guayanese rums, which tend to be on the rich and sweeter side, but I don't care for too much added sugar which becomes cloying.This hits my objective "sweet spot" (pardon the pun). Its age gives it flavors of coffee and some tobacco and oak, but the low ABV and sweetness keeps it smooth, especially after letting the glass rest for a bit.

I'm surprised and a little disappointed they didn't go for a more intense ABV, allowing us to dilute to taste, but then I guess there wouldn't have been as many bottles to go around; it's still pretty complex. And it's that much easier to drink straight from the bottle.

Of course any rating is subjective. This rum is what it is, plainly. Sometimes I'm more in the mood for a funky Jamaican, some of you are going to prefer a completely unsweetened agricole, some of you are going to find a more heavily sweetened El Dorado smoother. But if you're looking for an easy-to-drink contemplative after-dinner rum, for my money, this is top notch.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

I do a comparison with Gunpowder Proof. I love Guyana based navy blends, so I expect a lot from this blend.

Mollases based nose is greating me, a typical Demerara smell. The gunpowder proof has more coffee in the nose and is more earthy. The 15y is more gently and balanced with some additional flavors. First I get the molasses in the nose, it tastes like burned, thick sugar with coffee and salt. Behind that is the typical Guyana honey with caramel. It's a very tasty smell. Then I get the fruits,
herbs and the wood. I smell the molasses covered cask, not just the pure oak.

The taste starts quite intensive with Enmore flavors (raisins and caramel). I was afraid because of the dilution to 40%, but it's ok. It's very balanced again, you get molasses flavors (tanins, coffee, burned sugar) with honey but also wood and fruits. The taste is less intensive as at the Gunpowder. But because of that you can enjoy some more and finer flavors. It's also a little bit bitter because of the wood influence, it's definitely an old rum. Very tasty, rich and intensive navy blend IMHO.
There is no Barbados orJamaica influence. This is pure Guyana blend, but it's a good one.
I would prefer 45% I think, that's why it's a 86 points rating for me.

Nose: honey, caramel, molasses, raisins, herbs, papaya, figs, wood
Taste: raisins, caramel, herbs, wood, some tanins, honey, molasses
Middle: tanins, honey, molasses, papaya, raisins
Finish: spice, honey, wood, molasses, mint, caramel, raisins
Aftertaste: molasses and honey with wood, mint, very tasty

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 4/4
Complexity: 3.5/5
Experience level: amateur
Value (55€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

I was anticipating this bottle like no other. First, herd in the USA it is hard to find. I ordered it on line 4 times! The first 3,were canceled due to “ no stock”. So by the time this arrived I was REALLY ready to try it. This is great rum. Smooth with plenty of bite. Balanced with smoke and molasses. Not sweet. Long finish. Really good stuff. But I have to confess, at 3 times the price of the Pussers Navy rum I expected just a little more. I rated the regular navy a 9. I stand by it. This is likely a 9 also I just can’t help being a little disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by stonytokes from United States with 17 ratings

My love of Pussers other offerings led me to plunk down the $75 this runs in my area.

Best rum I've tried by far, it's what I imagine authentic navy rum to be. So smooth and darkly appealing, once purchased it stayed on my counter continually calling to me to lift the bottle to my lips pirate-style over and over again...and then it was gone.

Highly recommended but pricey.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 34 ratings

This is not a solera rum even if is made from molasses. You can smell a classic demerera sugar but not very dominant. Not oily , but full and complex in body. Finish is medium long and quite smooth.
I feel that this is a good rum in general but as a navy style of rums are new to me, I have to use to it.

Small img 20210206 154938 5219080434316553790

Posted 2 months ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 17 ratings

My firat impression was not good, but now i really like it, smoth with flavour at tabocco and wood.

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 4 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

This is a perfect rum. I’m not sure if it has additives, but this rum has a lot of the same flavours as gunpowder proof only just so much more delicious. Cinnamon, chocolate, tobacco, and gingerbread flavors make this a fantastic choice, even for the steep price.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Lovely smooth easy drinking rum. Has the district Pusser’s flavor. Would have liked it to be a stronger rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Earl from United States with 5 ratings

Very nice, i’ve got a bottle of this as a birthday present from a very dear friend, my best friend we sampled this and it was a very nice aged rum. You can definitely taste the oak barrel. This Hass to be one of my favorites of the Pusser’s rum