Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10
248 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
24
85
103
22

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

248 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Nick Michaelsen ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 18 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Ron Cartavio XO is coming in a nice bottle where all the information is graved into the bottle. I like this detail instead of the cheap labels that a lot of other rum makers are using.
In the nose this rum is sweet, a little spicy and I find notes as toffe and vanilla. The palate offers notes as, caramel, vanilla, nuts and oak. The aftertaste is long with hints of molasse and oak. This is really a fantastic rum, and for 750 DKK (100 EURO) I think it's worth every penny, and maybe more. Buy this rum if you haven't tried it before, you will not be dissapointed!!

LarsF ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 39 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Ron Carvatio XO comes in a classic bottle with a wooden cork. The rum is delivered in an tin box (picture). Hight class!

At first you smell some alcohol but when the rum have been resting for a while in the glass the aroma explodes with toffee, caramel and vanilla. One of the best aromas.

In mouth you get vanilla, caramel and fruit. You also get some spice in a very nice way. It is a very smooth and well balanced rum.

The aftertaste is long and sweet with some spice.

This is a favourite that I truly can recommend. The price is a bit high but it only costs half as much as Diplomรกtico Ambassador Selection and I think this rum is almost in the same class.

Derek ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 12 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

A Solera process rum with the oldest in the mix coming in at 18 years old. I was surprised there was a rum from Peru.... but hey! I'll try that. Glad I did. A rare find in most parts outside Peru... I'm tempted to buy as much as I can find before it's gone... so I don't have to find some excuse to fly to Peru so I can bring home more than I'm allowed to bring home. It smells fantastic and tastes the same. Sweet and smooth with a beautiful long finish. I've tried rum in nice bottles and thought... "they had to put this in a nice bottle to justify the price." When I drank this rum... my thought was, "this is in a nice bottle because it's a great rum and should be in a nice bottle." 3 thumbs up.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 536 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This just appeared at my local liquor store for the first time, so I grabbed a bottle. I was VERY impressed with the taste based on the reasonable cost ($69.99 K&L Wines 2015).

Though I don't count it in my scoring, this is one of the nicest bottles in my collection. A beautiful shape, and a beautiful color (see rumratings photo).

Smells of vanilla, spice, sweet molasses, honey, and hazelnut; the taste is equally nice. I like this a lot!

hyenik ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 154 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

fantastic bottle look, aromatic, smooth, tasty... and expensive :)
But worthy.

Markus Lehto ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 46 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Very classy looking bottle with wooden cork. Deep mahogany brown color, very nice! Pour it in a sniffer and let it rest for a while and... alcohol, very mild sweetness on the nose. Waaat!? Give it a swirl and whoa! Hugely sweet and thick, syrupy , molasses, what an aroma! Taste is equally good and thick. Nice slow sipping rum!

martin jeppesen ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 255 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Great rum in a nice pacakage. The nose is potent with sweet, burnt, brown sugar, baked banana, raisins and barrel notes. The palette offers a medium brown sugar sweetness on a background of oak and fills your mouth with lovely spicy tingles. It reminds me of a slightly deeper, more refinded but less sweet version of the Millonario solera 15.

Marc Cardinal ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 399 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I had been waiting for 3 years to taste this rum and I had the opportunity during a rum battle around 10 best ron. It has a beautiful dark amber color. At the nose, there are notes of toffee, coffee and chocolate. There is also honey and vanilla. In the mouth, the dark chocolate takes the top with a beautiful depth and a beautiful roundness. The spices arrive on a medium finish but the chocolate is for me always very present. A little disappointed.

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 220 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Sugar: 26 GPL.
The 2 year search for this one was worth it. Cartavio XO has a taste profile that is similar to another Peruvian rum (Millonario XO), however I give the slight edge to Cartavio XO on the basis that it is not as sweet.
Banana, raisins, toffee, walnuts, nutmeg, and oak are all present and boldly accounted for in taste and aroma. Wonderful aroma, nice balance of flavours and a very smooth rum with a lasting finish on your palate.

Spidey-P ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 93 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Pour this one and let it rest for a while in the glass. Sometimes I even leave the glass untouched for 30 minutes! After looking at the filled glass for this 30 minutes, sit down comfortably take the glass take the first sip and let the aroma do the work in your mouth and swirling on your tongue!! toffee, caramel and vanilla and some of the best aromas!!

The aftertaste is sweet and lingers for a good while pleasing your senses.

Truly a beautiful Rum in a Beautiful bottle!!

Dan-Fix ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 113 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

What a nice bottle! Well i usually prefer rum with a little more punch to it, the dryer ones. Ore at least the perfect balance between sweetness and dryness. But sometimes a more sugery rum put down my needs for candy. This is a great rum... But when the rum almost is on the edge to be an liqueur I loose my interest. Nose: fruits, brown sugar, plums. Palate: caramel, brown sugar, vanilla, chocolate in a sweety heaven!