Atlantico Gran Reserva rum

Atlantico Gran Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.3/10
33 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
11
11
5

Rate Atlantico Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

33 Atlantico Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Daniel.delvalle 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is one the best rums i have drank. The taste of sugar cane, carmel and vanilla notes are evident. Very smooth and no bitter burn.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 344 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Got a sample of this one when I drove from Sweden to Spain and made some stops during the way to buy some rum.
It’s nothing that I should buy, cause it’s too sweet but it’s quite well balanced with lots of vanilla taste together with some fruits.
Picture: The sample at my balcony in Spain.

Robert Ferron 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Sampled the Atlantico Gran Reserva at Cardiff Rum Festival on the weekend and I must say it's my favourite out of the Atlantico family. I almost purchased a bottle instead choosing the Botran 18 year old instead.

The Gran Reserva is achieved by first distilling 2 separate rums one from molasses another from fresh sugar cane juice, aging them separately then blending and reaging after this double aging the blend is put into the solera system. It's a thoroughly well aged liquid and it's just so good!

Aromas from both distillations are detectable on the nose there's rich caramel and a grassy freshness too! There's coffee, cacao and charred oak too

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

The smell is not special, but I like the balance of the aromas. It's good for the price.
I think the mix of agricole and molasses rum is well accomplished. If you like Plantation XO this is your entrance in the Agricole world.
The taste is a little bit young, sweet and bright. I get coconut, paper, bitter notes and vanilla.
There are not much agricole aromas.

Smell: paper, coconut, sugar syrup, vanilla, gras, vanilla, some berries
Taste: coconut, paper, tannins, vanilla, young wood, some light bitterness and spice
Finish: middle long, sugar, spice, coconut, wood remains on the palet

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (35€): 3.5/5

Simson 🇨🇿 | 100 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

40%ABV solera from the Dominican Republic. It is a combination of molasses rum and rum from sugar juice (agricole). The age of the rums in the blend is 15 - 25 years. The individual rums are aged in bourbon barrels.

Bottle: Wine type bottle of cylindrical shape
Colour: Amber

Aroma: Pleasantly floral and fruity. Not at all nose-biting. The aroma is dominated by toffee and coffee. I also smelled raisins, sweet drops candies, apricots and flowers. In addition, lightly tanned wood.
Mouth: Sweet but more watery. Slightly burning on the palate and on the tongue. The palate has caramel, coffee, vanilla, raisins and oak. Unfortunately, it's a bit flatter.
Finish: Short

Summary: A pretty good rum where the aroma is more interesting than the taste. The rum is drinking well but leaves no interesting aftertaste.
Rating: 7.5/10

Peter 🇸🇪 | 53 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

En helt okej rom. God smak som är söt och vanilj. En bra vardagsrum.

ScottN 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

If you really like vanilla flavors in your rum, then you'll love this rum. Otherwise steer clear of it. Not for me.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 357 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Ever go out with a really great looking girl that just "lies there"? This rum looks good and smells good but thats it. I kept thinking "come on, do something" Nope. It just sits in your mouth. No complexity, no exitement. No satisfaction.

Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

A fresh young rum nose and a strong and aftertaste of wood. In between it tastes young and fresh with a dash of first sweetness - but it's more bitter than sweet. So far, I've not found much in the Atlantico range to inspire me.

soccerrd5 🇳🇱 | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Did not think it'd be as smooth as I thought. Very good from beginning to end.

Jagged 🇸🇰 | 103 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Krásna vôňa - dub, vanilka, trstinový cukor. V chuti sa k tomu pridávajú citrusy, med a jemne káva. Záver je veľmi jemné štiplavejší po agricole zložke. Že mňa krásne vybalancovaný rum!




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva
Company: Atlantico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading