Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

El Salvador | Aged

7.0/10
49 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
7
11
17
4
3

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings

Subtle notes of wood, a hint of vanilla and cacao, soft undertones of coffee and a dash of brilliance that resembles the sweetness of fresh sugarcane juice.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2886 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 12y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. In general terms its not bad, but why waste time when you have SO MANY better rums out there...

Posted 6 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 513 ratings

I was happy to try one of the Cihuatan rums, and this didn't disappoint.

Has a fairly simple flavor profile, that smells and tastes of vanilla, caramel, and cacao. Not bad at all, but not great either.

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 362 ratings

Mild alcohol with slight vanilla scents, pale gold color I typically gravitate to the darker brown rums. Watered down sweet swill, not to harsh, a bit sweet not great not terrible. Much better options out there at 12 year old, but enjoyed trying something new.

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 316 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but there will not be any further testing.
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12 is produced by distillery Licorera Cihuatán in Cihuatan valley, El Salvador.
It’s a Solera probably with a quite young average age in my opinion.
The sugar mill Ingenio La Cabana provides the molasses used in Ron de El Salvador Cihuatans rums. The rum is produced on a multi column still and then aged in ex-bourbon barrels before bottling at ABV 40%.
The only aroma that was detectable was alcohol, bad alcohol. In mouth and palate it didn’t taste that bad instead vanilla dominates, but it was also possible to recognize caramel. The short finish tasted the same. It’s sweetened but not overly, I read somewhere that it was 19g/l.
Can’t recommend this rum.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Posted over 1 year ago by hugorollo (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 9 ratings

A strange rum and in my opinion not a very one good.

Nose is kind of bad and smells like very strong alcohol and some other bad smell that I don’t know what it is.
On the palate it’s the classic vanilla and sugar taste, but it also tastes like they have mixed it with perfume or something.
A chemical taste in my opinion.
Short finish.

Posted 2 years ago by Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings

Beats me. Right after opening there is little to no nose except for a scent I can only describe as wet cardboard. After 10 minutes that is mostly gone and apart from vanilla and oaky notes I get something that reminds me of a sweet perfume rather than a drink. Not bad but I have to push myself start sipping this. It tastes better than it smells and though way too smooth for my taste at least the Cihuatan has enough character to stay upright. The taste remains more perfume than specific fruits or flowers, the alcohol 'bite' is just enough to help not noticing the sugar too much.

At the end I get, like another reviewer also mentioned, vague notes of (slightly scorched) PVC. All in all too sweet and otherwise not my style of rum. They go here for €45-50 and I see nothing to justify that.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mo McGurk 🇺🇸 | 215 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mihai 🇷🇴 | 212 ratings

Diferențe clare față de mai tânărul "frate". Gust mai bogat și aftertaste remarcabil

Posted 3 months ago by Jimmie 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings

First impression of strong alcohol on the nose. After letting it breathe this eased up and there are slight vanilla notes on the tasting profile. Not overly sweet. I would drink this in a pinch but I would not seek it out.




Brand Details

Name: Reserva Especial 12-Year
Company: Cihuatan
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513