El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.8/10
263 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
21
54
114
56
9
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

263 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 years ago by Craig 🇨🇦 | 16 ratings

Lambs Amber is my usual base mixing rum for rum and soda drinks. Most of my friends who are Cuba Libre drinkers are also Lambs Amber fans. Not being a fan of this drink myself I can't compare how E.D. 8 enhances the drink. I do however like it in a nice rum cocktail. For the price this is certainly a step up from a Lambs or Captain Morgan.

Posted over 6 years ago by craig72 🇨🇦 | 42 ratings

This El~Dorado product is one I can certainly drink straight-up, if I have to, and enjoy it immensely, but usually, I'm mixing this with 5-Alive (citrus) and/or 7-Up, and ice. A little spicy and still plenty sweet, I call this my "go-to" rum, as it's a little less a whack on the pocketbook as the others, but still a great, great rum with the usual flavors I enjoy, like brown sugar, butterscotch/caramel, toffee, etc. providing all the flavor a guy could want while still supplying a little heat without a deadly, throat or gut-wrenching 'burn.' Beautiful stuff!

Posted over 6 years ago by Kim Jensen 🇩🇰 | 16 ratings

Beautiful golden color. Sweet spicy taste with a good aftertaste.

Posted over 6 years ago by MBSells 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

No bite, just right. Very smooth sippin' rum, a little sweet, drinking it as write. A very little alcohol taste on the back end but not to much at all- very easy going, nice. I drink import rum as my go to drink other than beer and figured I'd give this one a try for the price since I read a lot of reviews. Three filtered water ice cubes and a just a little extra filtered water as I like my rum somewhat watery rather than straight on the rocks as others might like it. Smells delicious, maybe a little honey nose initially, a sweet somewhat cask smell as well, would pair well with a nice bowl of Captain Black White Pouch tobacco pipe if I still smoked but I don't smoke the pipe anymore. On the tongue again- smooth, no real bite like some others I've tried. I don't think you could go wrong picking this up if you like a smooth sippin' rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Marek 🇸🇰 | 30 ratings

in my country this bottle costs 19 euro, ED 12 YO costs 29 euro, so the price difference convinced me to first try this cheaper version.
It was not a misstep. Lovely caramel nose and full bodied taste, mainly molasses, caramel and molasses again. I miss citruses here a bit but overall a very good buy. it would be 7, but the good price adds up a point.

Posted over 6 years ago by Per Rosenhave 🇩🇰 | 158 ratings

Som titel siger, lyder som et eventyr og glæder mig vildt til at få denne flaske åbnet også :)

Posted over 6 years ago by Jamie Hicks 🇨🇦 | 32 ratings

About as sweet as I can manage it. Any sweeter and it would be off my scale. Also love the 5-year old version.

Posted over 6 years ago by sulohanuri 🇫🇮 | 32 ratings

This one is great. Allmost good as 12 years old but much more cheaper. Good competition to Appleton Estate 8 years old.

Posted over 6 years ago by Edward Martens 🇨🇦 | 30 ratings

Sweet molasses taste with background of wood. Good body. Evaluated neat but will likely survive ice or cola.

Posted over 6 years ago by Reddew 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings

The problem is the 12yr is so good and only a few dollars more so why not just get the 12yr and call it a day.

Posted almost 7 years ago by JRW 🇬🇧 | 1 rating

Lovely drink at an affordable price. Not going to compete with the expensive sippers but for £20-£25 I think you will struggle to beat it.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513