Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year

Colombia | Aged | Pot Still Distilled

6.6/10
40 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
8
12
9
2
1

Rate Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

40 Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

RedBlaze6 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Sweet aroma. The taste, not so much but with a fruity flavor at the start. Ends dry with a good amount of oak present. Enjoyable but very short finish and dryer than I usually like. I prefer sipping rums, and this isn't a bad one. Just doesn't stand out at all. Would drink again if offered to me but not one I will be purchasing for my shelf.

Nicoakr ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 108 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Not bad but... Nice fruity first nose, more oaky afterwards. The mouth is a bit disappointing though it has a long warm finish. Vanilla and baked apple flavours, oaky. I would recommend the 10yrs anniversary edition of in Colombia. Same price but much better thanks to a nice blend of 10, 20 and 30 yrs reserve rums.

Chet ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 192 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a decent rum, unique flavors but still tastes like rum. Has a hint of lighter fruits, no sweetness what so ever and leaves your mouth enjoying the flavors. 12 year at a decent level of complexity.

eddieo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 107 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is a rough-tasting aged industrial rum, it does not really stand up to its Venezuelan or Panamanian counterparts. Nothing special, it may remind you of a another anejo, similar to Havana 7 or Abuelo. Not a lot of flavor on the palate, the caramel is there (likely added) and the alcohol burns off high in the sinuses. Dare I say it almost has a burned cane aftertaste.

I have had this neat, on the rocks and mixed, and if you give it enough time on ice it will be fine.

Will McQ ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 2 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Light golden, nice initial spicy taste, lack complexity of some other rums but an enjoyable drink

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 126 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Really an enjoyable rum. Smooth but still interesting with a little spice. Short finish and not too oily. Probably good for rum rookies but maybe not complex enough for experienced rum drinkers

GuilleARG ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท | 12 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Por el promedio de esta pรกgina, esperaba menos, pero es un buen ron, buen aroma, interesante paladar, bien cuerpo. No descolla, pero se deja tomar sin problemas

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 442 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Nothing bad about this rum, aged 12 years in oak barrels, pleasant all around. On ice it lacked any depth, thus the 7 rating, neat I found it easy to drink neat, nice all around just lacking depth to take rating higher. But in the $30-$35 US I wouldnโ€™t kick her out of bed.

Patricebru ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 60 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I had some nice vanilla and coconut taste at first taste, and then nothing, very dry and flavours disappeared

Erik Marum ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 42 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This is one of my faves. Definitely a strong butterscotch flavor profile and it is also incredibly smooth. My favorite way to enjoy this is to put it in the freezer for an hour, then sipping neat. This is also a dangerous way to consume this as it is a very smooth rum with a short finish. This, I find myself sipping incredibly frequently, which leads to...well...we know what it leads to. For the price, this is an excellent rum which is one of my standard go to's.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 12-Year
Company: Medellin
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot Still
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading