Posting your rating...
Plantation Isle Fiji rum

Plantation Isle Fiji

France | Aged

6.5/10
60 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
5
21
19
7
3
1

Rate Plantation Isle Fiji

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

60 Plantation Isle Fiji ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by slawekr from Poland with 40 ratings

It's like Plantation Dark Rum with fruit. Worth tasting.

Posted 3 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 34 ratings

Plantation is not a Rum Distiller as you might think, they’re more a consolidator, they take Rums from all over the world and blend them into various spirits that come and go. I’ve had a number of Plantation Rums already and I’m looking forward to sampling this one... But with a bit of worry. The last Rum I had from Fiji was Bounty, drab, sour and underwhelming. But here we go...

The nose of this Rum is bold, even as I'm a couple feet away from my snifter. It’s doing quite well competing with the odour of onions coming in the window from the neighbour who’s cooking at 8:33pm. Up close, it’s a bit sour. I’ve used the term “Plumbers Putty” before and this Rum has it in spades. If I were to to put it into context I would say it’s bold with apricot, orange and raw spirits. The first hit is delicate, not overwhelming or spicy. That surprises me because it is 40% ABV. Early flavours are of molasses and bitter orange. Still it’s sweet.

In the mouth Plantation Isle of Fiji has only the slightest hint of pepper or heat. Teetotallers will be happy with that. The flavours are broad of apricot, orange, walnut and molasses. Pleasant. Lori said she found banana, but I did not. In the throat it’s easy, no big burn like cheap Rums and Spirits. It almost disappears. The finish in my mind is bold on molasses and I like it. Best served neat at room temperature.

Posted 2 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 293 ratings

Had just a sample of this Pot and Column distilled rum from Rum Company of Fiji bottled by Plantation.
The total aging is 3-4 years, first tropical in ex-Bourbon barrels and then in France in French oak casks.
In nose it’s quite sharp, smoky and fruity but I also detect vanilla.
On the palate it’s still fruity and smoky but also spicy and I recognize banana, ginger and hints of coconut.
The rather short finish goes on in the same way.
Overall a quite OK rum, but a pity that the finish was so short.
Please: My emptied sample poured in a glass.

Posted 6 months ago by Don from Canada with 159 ratings

A great amber colour in the stubby Plantation bottle with a tropical coloured label. The nose is fruity, funky and sweet. It is like Jamacian and Barbados rums combined. It is a great mixer and is easily sipped with little burn. This is my first rum from Fiji and I will be looking for more. $37Can is a deal for this rum.

Posted 6 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 55 ratings

The Plantation rums I've tried so far all seem to have a similar characteristic aftertaste. Not bad, but not great. Not as dry or funky as the Xaymaca. Prefer the Stiggens Fancy Pineapple rum.

Posted 8 months ago by Kevin from United States with 35 ratings

OK, just did a taste test with their XO. I'm buying 2 bottles of this instead of 1 bottle of the XO for the same price. 2 for 1 is a great deal! Not much added sugar so that's a plus. Price point on target with similar brands. Although it's true they produce better rums for 3 or 4x the price this one has a spot on my bar. OK, for you guys who need $100 bottles don't stock it but for us pirates this works! 12/23 update. Looks like the well is drying up. I've searched locally and found 2 bottles left and grabbed them. I will savor this till the last drop! So, if there's any left in your neighborhood grab it before it's gone. This is one to remember!

Posted 11 months ago by dragon from Slovenia with 26 ratings

Another one great rum from Plantation.
Typical taste from Plantation company with bubble funky spirit of Fiji Islands.
Recommending.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

I give this a meh. Off putting aroma but otherwise palatable. Tastes ok but not top shelf. Inexpensive. Haven’t found the right mixer yet. Nothing touches the 5 year.

Posted 2 days ago by Rumrumrum from Germany with 2 ratings

I wanted to try Jamaican Rum but I couldn't find any at my local supermarket. So bought this instead.
The bottle is nice, besides the cap. I heard people describe funky Jamaican rum as overripe banana and I kinda got that on the nose. I'm kinda missing something on the taste to make it great.

Overall not disappointed and the price is fair, I want more with this flavor profile and would recommend (until I find something better :p).

Posted 9 days ago by RumGuy from United States with 23 ratings

There’s something good in there but with the dosage and added water it’s very distant. Best to look for an independent bottler if you really want a taste of Fiji rum. I’m sure this will be an okay mixer, if a bit boring.

Posted 10 days ago by Justinharp from United States with 28 ratings

If you are looking for a unique experience this is a great deal. I enjoy just sipping neat!