Posting your rating...
Centenario 12-Year rum

Centenario 12-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

6.8/10 (72 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
14
26
17
4

Rate Centenario 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


72 Centenario 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Rum je nejvíce patrný svou kořeněnou chutí. Není špatný, ovšem ochutnal jsem i lepší rumy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kostarika
Aroma: Vanilka, kůže, čokoláda, javorový sirup a máta, nebo něco podobně větrového. (83 b)
Chuť: Čokoláda s kůží, med, k tomu opět peprmintová příchuť, snad až do anýzu a lékořice. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Za cenu kolem 550 korun v akci to není nic převratného, ale ani nic, co by zklamalo či urazilo. Celkem pohodový rum, který je ozvláštněn větrově pikantní vůní a chutí.
Body: 83

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I really love the Centenario 20, 25, and 30, but I didn't have high of hopes for this, due to the low price of only $28.99 (Beltramo's 2015). However, I was pleasantly surprised. While this isn't as good as the above, it's still my kind of rum.

Has a wonderful sweet caramel and brown sugar smell/taste, that is relatively simple, but extremely good to me! A tad harsh compared to the others I mentioned, but a great taste and a nice surprise for my 90th review!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I understand others don't rate it as highly. However, I fully disagree. I find it to be quite smooth as a sipping rum, with very complex and pleasing flavors that are so absent in lesser rums. In fact, I'd say this is my perfect sipping rum. It's not harsh, it remains smooth when held in the mouth and has a gentle afterburn. Perfect straight up in a small glass. I'd rate it in the low 90's.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

When in Costa Rica, this is my go to - mainly because I like supporting the local economy, but it’s delicious enough to sip neat, and it’s still cheaper than anything close to comparable.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a bottle for 35 from TWE chocolate and caramel slightly smooth but not amazing

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mike Colligon from United States with 9 ratings

Tasty, but not as smooth and refined as som other 12 year old rums. Fruity and sweet on the nose, a little vanilla note on initial taste, then there is a bit of a bite at the end.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rumaniac from Greece with 7 ratings

Yes, let's start saying this : I feel that this is a really big improvement over the mediocre 5-years old & simple 7-years old Centenarios (unfortunately I haven't been able yet to taste the even older versions). Sooo here we are talking about a pleasant & smooth everyday rum, with a rich, oily texture & a complicated character (not overly, though) : the balance between the caramel/cinnamon/brown sugar/dried fruits & the oak hints works just fine! A recommended rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I finally came across a bottle of this Ron Centenario 12 Year Old this morning. When I got home, it was time to compare it to my Ron Centenario 7 Year Old that I rated as a 6 some time ago. This 12 Year Old is only marginally better than the 7 Year Old, but when cost is considered, is this 12 Year Old worth double the price? I think not. Don't get me wrong, it is a very good dry rum with enough complex flavors to warrant sipping. However, since there are better rums for less money, I will only buy it again if I happen to run across it at a good price. I almost put the 20 Year Old into my buggy for purchase, but am so glad that I put it back.

Update October 2, 2018: I found this one again at a nearby liquor store for only $34, which now makes it a good buy. After being burned by it's sugar bomb older brother RC 20 that has 40 gpl of added sugar, I had to give this one another try. Nowhere is this listed, but it definitely has 0 gpl of added sugar, making it a dry rum. If it is transparent with no viscosity or legs, then it has no added sugar. Plain and simple!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

A friend of mine brought this back from Costa Rica, and I've really enjoyed it. There is a bit of sweetness to it, and it's only 70 proof (35% ABV), but that might be part of its charm. If you like the Diplomatico, you'll probably like this, too.

I poured it neat, and you could smell the sweetness, with a little oak and a tinge of alcohol. It has a bit of an oily mouth feel, but gives you just a little burn from the alcohol and just a hint of the sweetness. You can taste the oak and spirit, with just a hint of apricot left behind.

It goes down easy. I think I'll have another.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charlie from United States with 12 ratings

I first got this rum a few years ago on vacation in Costa Rica. I immediately fell in love with it, rich taste and a smooth finish. It is great on the rocks or mixed with coke/ coconut milk. If possible pour some into a freshly opened coconut for an authentic Costa Rica taste.