Posting your rating...
Pére Labat Blanc 59 rum

Pére Labat Blanc 59

Guadeloupe | Agricole | 59.0% ABV

7.8/10
42 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
7
9
13
7

Rate Pére Labat Blanc 59

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Pére Labat Blanc 59 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Jerry Gitany from France with 22 ratings

From Marie-Galante, very powerfull and tastefull white rhum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Zoidberg from Armenia with 2 ratings

According to me, this rum is one of the most tasty rums. I have no aluminium organs, and I'm still alive!... Yes, This rum is very strong... but if you drink it with cane syrup and a slice of lime, you'll enjoy it, for sure. I think the good recipe to appreciate it is half rum, half syrup (to avoid the inconvenience of it's high alcohol vapor) and a lime quarter. No rocks needed (as the "carribean recipe"!)

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Harlock from France with 6 ratings

Probably my favorite rum. His high alcohol percent allows macerations with a lot of fruits without being too soft.
Well in "Ti Punch" (lemon/sugar/rum).

Rq : I've no family links with terminator or robocop.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Polou from France with 35 ratings

I find this agricol white rum really incredible.
The nose may seem a little harsh and dry, but it should be allowed to breathe a little. Then the smell of cane and pure cane juice is amazing.
For the palate despite it being 59 degrees, I find it very easy to drink neat.
We also find the taste and freshness of slightly peppery sugar cane. I find it to be an excellent Agricol white rum. it is uncompromising and a little tough, but it is one of my favorite rums. the taste of fresh ducat cane is amazing. I prefer it to the Neisson 50/52 and 55.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Raven from France with 56 ratings

But I discovered some kind of strong cane-vodka ? Could it be a problem with the bottle (too much sun exposure at the shop ?) I don't know yet, but frankly it doesn't have the character that I look for in an agricole. It is even quite boring, not much happening here compared to Longueteau or Bielle. The good side is its creamy and smooth mouthfeel.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Awesomedon from United States with 32 ratings

This is my second agricole and wow is this an amazing second bottle if there is a better one than this I would like to try it

Small img 20200430 195740

Posted 11 months ago by Noname from France with 72 ratings

Rhum puissant. Les 59 se font sentir mais laisse part tout de même à de bonnes saveur vraiment très appréciable sec ou en Ti punch

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Stefanvanbeveren from Belgium with 15 ratings

Expecting extreme alcohol notes, they seemed to be mastered away completely. Not an everyday rum, but definitely a speciality to have on the shelf!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Institution de l’île Marie Galante (dépendance administrative de la Guadeloupe), les rhums Père Labat sont un hommage à un personnage ayant réellement existé : Jean-Baptiste Labat appelé plus communément Père Labat homme d’église dominiciain, passionné par la botanique, les voyages l’exploration, l’ethnographie, les sciences et l’écriture. Ajoutons au CV du personnage un exploit militaire, puisqu’il participa activement à la fortification de la Guadeloupe (il reste une tour visible sur place, qui porte son nom) et pris part à la défense de l’ile lors de l'attaque britannique de l'île de 1704 !

Quel rapport avec le rhum me direz-vous ? Il a également participé à la fondation d’une exploitation sucrière à Sainte Marie (Martinique), et il à aidé à moderniser l’industrie de la canne à sucre dans les Antilles.

L’histoire de la distillerie commence dans la seconde moitié du XIXème sicèle, lorsque Madame Poisson fait l’acquisition du domaine, auquelle elle donnera son om, pour se lancer dans une industrie lucrative pour l’époque, l’industrie sucrière.
Toutefois à la fin du XIXème, devant faire face à une modernisation de la filière et à sa réorganisation (concentration à la Grande Anse, devenant la principale sucrerie de l’île), le domaine est alors racheté par Edouard Rameaux, qui prend la décision de transformer l’exploitation en une distillerie, faisant, dès le début du XXème siècle, l’acquisition d’un alambic, puis d’une colone créole (en cuivre), il profite de cette transformation pour renommer la distillerie en l’honneur, du pionnier qui mis au point la distillation du vin de canne frais: la sucrerie du domaine POISSON devient la Distillerie du PÈRE LABAT.

A noter la belle approche artisanale; le rhum du Père Labat est fabriqué à partir du pur jus de canne à sucre lui donnant une jolie palette aromatique, véritable témoin de son terroir.
Notre avis : un très belle surprise, les 59° passent plutôt bien et ne gênent pas la dégustation.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by dbroussard27 from United States with 18 ratings

This is probably the rhum that got me hooked on rhum agricole. At 59%, it's definitely on the high end, but the earthiness of the flavor comes through without any problem. If the alcohol content is too much, go with the white label 50%.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 31 ratings

Tough guy agricole that you’ll not forget.
Nose: iodine, a brief whiff of toasted coconut and wet hay.
Palate: A brief hint of fennel or fenugreek seeds, toast and bitter citrus peel before cane juice and fruit takes over. Strange ceremony of Granny Smith forging an alliance with Pineapple Pete. Strong, vegetal aftertaste with a slight bitterness.

You’ll find white agricoles that go down more smoothly but this is perhaps as close as you can get to the quintessential idea of it — a bit like what the Laphroaig 10 is to Islay whiskies.