Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Caribbean | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.2/10 (379 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
15
52
152
125
20
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


379 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Guy Jones from United States with 2 ratings

This is my go-to dark rum, rivaled in terms of quality-for-value only by Haiti's Rhum Barbancourt Five-Star. Plantation 5-Year Barbados rum is a fine Bajan offering from the house of Cognac Ferrand. The rum is aged for three to four years in bourbon casks in Barbados and is then shipped to France for a period of one to two years' additional aging in casks that previously held Pierre Ferrand cognac. I don't know of any other spirits producer who goes to this amount of time and effort to produce a rum that is available at a price point of roughly $22.99 per bottle.

The nose offers hints of vanilla and caramel. The taste on the palate is smooth, but, full of molasses flavor. This is probably the best value available in a quality dark rum, this spirit excels in cocktails and makes a fantastic "Dark 'n Stormy."

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 32 ratings

Fantastic value. Tastes like a young XO as well it should.

Nose is light. Caramel. Vanilla. Butter honey.

Oily draw. A bit of heat with an oakey dry finish. Sugar cane. Vanilla extract. Dried green Raisens

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Fire and thunder! This be an exceptional rum for the price! She smells sweet of vanilla and a hint of somethin' toasty, which I be at a loss to speak on. As for taste, the vanilla disappears like a ghost ship, but in its place there be orange and milk chocolate... but toasty! She be plenty spicy with a hint of cinnamon, too. There be a bit cognac on board, but not 'til the finish, and barely then. This rum be smooth with little burn and worth every penny. Aye, this be a right fine rum, or I be a lubbery Dutchman, which I ain't!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by BallerAND1P from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Not being that experienced with rums, I might have to re-rate this in the future.
Picking up vanilla and some similarities in the age to others.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rumbell Beard from Germany with 5 ratings

A very mild one with nice flavour. For poeple, who dont like too strong rum taste and burns.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by abrarey from United States with 26 ratings

On the nose ripe bananas and vanilla.
on the taste is sweet but not overly sweet. This rum has added sugar which I normally don't like but I can say is well balanced in here. Can be considered a borderline sipper that can stand against other expensive options.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rogerhayes101 from United States with 3 ratings

Great rum. Solid rum taste with nice flavor...not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

Being a cuban rum drinker mostly I wanted to check out another rum making country and came to Barbados because of their dry rums; I don't mind a little sugar but hate liquid bonbons. I should have done my homework better because this rum is partially raised in France and adding sugar is allowed here!

And after finishing 2/3 of the bottle I also understand why; the rum is actually too immature and harsh and simply needs the sugar too soften up the sharp edges that are still there. The flavours are promissing and I think the base of this rum is ok but it simply needs finishing as nothing really comes to life here.

And then halfway it suddenly decided that it wanted to become a cognac but never arrived there either. After the cognac/oak slap in your face is gone the aftertaste is almost gone as well leaving only a bit of hard tannines with a vague vanilla.

This is in no way what I expect or want from a rum and while I do believe the original distillate has enough quality both too little aging and elevation in cognac casks makes this a rum that tries to be something it will never become. At this price point you cannot expect perfection but for me this is a long way off. It is drinkable and I will sure finish the bottle but there is little fun in doing so.

Edit; after ending the bottle I have to say that the 3 I rated it before is too harsh for a drinkable rum. I don't like it better but added a point in order to keep my reviews better matched.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

I find nothing at all wrong with this rum. It has minimal sugar. No Solera which people complain about. It doesn’t just taste like oak wood tea. It’s 40% which is fine. I’m not using it to strip paint. It’s finished off in France. I love cognac. It has a beautiful color, nose and palate. I love it. Even in the morning neat. Like now. I’ve had it in my Stok cold brew coffee and milk which is also fine. After trying American whiskeys, scotches, Irish whiskeys and other rums, this is at the moment top of my list.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, An easy drink from start to finish whether neat or mixed. A great value

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

This is really good so far, it's so perfect for the price. Easly the best for the cost, I'm in love