Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (616 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
126
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


616 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Mount Gay Distilleries boast of being the oldest one in the world. This is not only a marketing move but every sip of this rum confirms that generations of roneros in Barbados have gathered enough experience how to make a great rum. An excellent choice for brandy and cognac lovers, the taste is very smooth, wood plays the major role. 85%

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

I like their “no sugar added” policy and how they have been able to stand out in the rum business. For rum lovers that are more inclined into a well balanced dry rum, this is for you. You won’t be disappointed, enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by cemanuel114 from Canada with 2 ratings

Trop fort, corsé et puissant en alcool. Je me le réserve pour faire des mixtes puissant!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by panki from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Balení není nijak zábavné, spíše nenápadné. Ale v jednoduchosti je síla.
Pokud nemáte zrovna chuť na něco sladkého, je toto super volba.
Perfektní vůně: dřevo, rozinky, trochu vanilky a ovoce.
Chuťově není co vytknout. Žádná zbytečná dochucovadla, prostě klasika, takový "praotec Rum". Truchu připomíná whisky.
Po nalití je ho třeba nechat chvilku vydechnout.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haden from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Dry. Bone dry, with little or no added sugar. Light in body - bourbon-like. By the end of the bottle I was sold.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

It is not as good as the Black Barrel...not by half.
It has a bitterness that I didn't enjoy as I didn't find it a palatable bitterness. I didn't find much sweetness in it either, but there was a burn. Dry too, so if you like dry rums it may be for you.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rick of the rum from Norway with 6 ratings

This was my go to rum for my two weeks in Barbados. Easy to drink or like the locals with a splash of coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Forbzie from Canada with 4 ratings

I found it had a great overall palate. Soft after taste but had a fair amount of final heat. Buttery smell and middle taste but it finished dry.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

I have visited the distillery a couple times now and never disappointed with the tour or the Rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak.
Good Rum to baseline all others

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by youwill from Canada with 13 ratings

this is my new favorite rhum of the year what a nice taste and smooth

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Up to 12 years ago, I was a single malt whiskey or cognac drinker and wouldn’t touch rum with a barge pole. I then had a 2 week break in Barbados and was introduced to aged rum, by being handed a complimentary tot of XO. It would be an understatement to say that I was amazed at how good it was. Since then, my tipple of choice became aged rum.

The aroma/bouquet of XO is of bananas and tropical fruit, with spice, like a fruit cake. The palate has fruit and a honeyed sweetness, without losing the warm alcohol-kick. It is long and the taste stays with you.

I gave XO an 8, but I have found a number of rums that I prefer, that I also rated as 8, simply because 7 is too low. That aside, I have no problem recommending this rum. Try it. I’m sure you will like it and you may love it.