Posting your rating...
J. Wray Silver rum

J. Wray Silver

Jamaica | Light

5.4/10 (10 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
3

Rate J. Wray Silver

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 J. Wray Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 19 ratings

Definitely a mixer. But a very good one. Way better than Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

Good quality white rum with a good price. I always drink on ice or in my Pina Coladas. On the rocks, I get a smoky, smooth almost earthy and kind of roasted marshmallow taste. Not too bad!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I had already tried their horrible overproof as well as their gold rum, so I was hesitant to try this one. At only $16 in the hopes of finding hogo funk in a white rum, it was worth a try. Well, as I sip this one neat, all of the hogo has been filtered out. It is not offensive, but cannot quite compare to my top white rums. The back of the label recommends mixing it with fruit juices or using it in mojitos, and I agree on both counts. However, the fruit juices need to be more assertive than guava. This one is simply Appleton Silver in a new bottle and label. Much better than Bacardi Superior or anything from Captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 20 ratings

Solid, but nothing special. Plain, but smooth, very little burn. I did read someone else say it is oily - I would need to sip again, but that sounds accurate. Not syrupy, no real flavors to detect (ultra-filtered?), but I drink my rum neat and this will do. No complaints, you could do worse. This rum at least has no added sugars or flavors (per the law in Jamaica).

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

I can't really tell you why I like this rum. I could not get any real flavors from it, but to me it just tasted good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by whyisalltherumgone from United States with 6 ratings

It's an ok rum, and just that. The smell, somewhat tropical, is more pleasing than the taste. Poor for sipping, bad for shots, okay for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

There is nothing remarkable here. Not that there pretends to be, but this is a somewhat bland, oily, and rather pedestrian rum priced to compete with Bacardi. It is smoother than Bacardi, with slightly more flavor, but for only a few dollars more you can get a vastly superior rum somewhere else on the shelf. It has an aged note with some vanilla, and a fleeting bit of funk, but this is a rum you buy when you want to make a drink with rum but not taste rum. Sold for $16 at a local liquor store at the time of my purchase a year ago, but now selling for $20. At $16 it's okay. At $20, keep looking.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. J. Wray Silver bottle and label design is very lame and boring. Jamaican funk and glue straight to the nose and palate. Awful burn at the end. Mix it with Coke and down it goes, but just barely.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by neatonly from Hungary with 3 ratings

Has a lot of alcohol smell and bite, so not the smoothest to drink neat. Despite this I keep finishing and buying bottles. Ofcourse the price is great and it has a happy taste that I haven't found elsewhere: the taste of marshmallows. Notes: alcohol, candy, tropical fruits, sugar, vanilla.

(I think this is the same as Appleton White)

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Really good mixer for just about anything. Good flavor that is present but not overpowering. Good value too. Don't need to overthink this one if u wanna mix. Just grab it and go.