Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Subtle notes of wood, a hint of vanilla and cacao, soft undertones of coffee and a dash of brilliance that resembles the sweetness of fresh sugarcane juice.

Posted 18 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 32 ratings

Beats me. Right after opening there is little to no nose except for a scent I can only describe as wet cardboard. After 10 minutes that is mostly gone and apart from vanilla and oaky notes I get something that reminds me of a sweet perfume rather than a drink. Not bad but I have to push myself start sipping this. It tastes better than it smells and though way to smooth for my taste at least the Cihuatan has enough character to stay upright. The taste remains more perfume than specific fruits or flowers, the alcohol 'bite' is just enough to help not noticing the sugar too much.

At the end I get, like another reviewer also mentioned, vague notes of (slightly scorched) PVC. All in all too sweet and otherwise not my style of rum. They go here for €45-50 and I see nothing to justify that.

Posted 3 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 12y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. In general terms its not bad, but why waste time when you have SO MANY better rums out there...

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Diferențe clare față de mai tânărul "frate". Gust mai bogat și aftertaste remarcabil

Posted 3 days ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 172 ratings

barva: světle zlata
vuně: vanilka, karamel
chut:silnější palení, burbon, karamel, lehce koření
koupit:ne
doporucit: ne
7,5

Posted about 1 month ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

from El Salvador
Nose: very nice, spicy and fruity
Palate: very untypical but still pleasant, reminds a little bit on maple syrup, but is not too sweet. Unfortunately, it was only a sample, would like to taste some more...
(Cal 19 day23)

Posted about 1 month ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

Both these rums are such a good deal. Very tasty and so cheap. Could definitely sell for lot more. Bought them in El Salvador as a package.

Posted 3 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

I have previously reviewed the 8-year from Cihuatan, which have plenty of good reviews, but didn´t quite fit my tastebuds. Sadly the exact same thing can be said about this one.

Nose: Clove, caramel, nutmeg, brown sugar and a small hint of banana
Taste: Caramel, coconut, oak, banana and vanilla with a very short watery aftertaste
Overall: I can see from the reviews on this side, that Cihuatan is a popular sipper and more power to you, but this is just to simple and boring for my taste.

Posted 3 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It Starts really sweet and after the sweetness i had strange plastic notes.
Has a really different taste but not my favourite

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Anders als meine gewohnten Rums aus Barbados, aber richtig lecker und interessant

Posted 4 months ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

This rum with scent of banana was good, not to harsh alcohol, despite it was in aroma.

Posted 5 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Næsten ingen duft. Måskemlidt vanilje. Smagen er tør, men også lidt sødme. Også smag af nødder, vanilje og karamel. Jeg var fan af 8 års udgaven, så forventede at denne mindst var lige så god, men det synes jeg desværre ikke, den er. Jeg overvejede et syv-tal, men tror mest det var skuffelsen, der gjorde det, for det er egentlig ikke en dårlig rom. (23. December 2019 i 1423)

Posted 5 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Nothing interesting, sweet nose, a bit of herbs and ethanol in taste.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Po ovonani som bol mierne sklamaný ,vôňa sa nerozvinula ani po pár minútach. Chuť má nakoniec prijemne prekvapila..náznak jabĺk,citrusov a jemne drevitym charakter v závere.

Posted 5 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Pokud bych měl na tomto rumu něco hanět, řeknu že moc dobře/zajímavě nevoní. Jsou rumy krásně vonící a pak téměř nepitelné, tento rum má slabou a nezajímavou vůni ale výbornou chuť. Je trochu těžší, lehce olejová a nasládlá. Cítit je dřevo a oříšky.

Posted 5 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Eher süss, besonders im Vordergrund.
Sonst noch etwas Holz, bitter und ein klein wenig schärfe.

Posted 5 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I liked this rum but wish the makers would have had enough confidence to allow to to stand on its own instead of the added sugar. That said, a nice nose of vanilla and banana. The first taste is smooth but also very sweet with flavors of banana, caramel and nuts. I enjoyed it but would prefer it with not the additives so I'm taking points off for that.

Posted 5 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Honigfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase eher auf der dunklen Seite, satter, schwarzer feinkrümeliger Hummus, dunkles Karamell, angekohlte Fässer, dunkelrote Beeren, tropfnasses dunkelgrünes Moos.
Im Gaumen sehr speziell, etwas süss-prickelnd wie ein Schaumwein. Karamell, Vanille, etwas Holz, aber etwas lieblos.
Im Abgang süss, Karamell und Vanille, leider etwas flach.
Ein lieblicher Solera, aber auch nicht mehr, sehr austauschbar. Für Einsteiger und Solera Lovers.

Honey-coloured amber in the glass.
In the nose rather on the dark side, rich, black fine crumbly hummus, dark caramel, charred barrels, dark red berries, dripping wet dark green moss.
Very special on the palate, somewhat sweet and tingly like a sparkling wine. Caramel, vanilla, some wood, but a little loveless.
Sweet in the finish, caramel and vanilla, unfortunately a bit flat.
A lovely Solera, but also no more, very interchangeable. For beginners and Solera lovers.

Posted 6 months ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

My new favorite. Bought it blind only because I read some articles about it. Not disappointed at all. A fantastic smell of vanilla and chocolate. Very smooth and mild, sweet enough but not too sweet. Don't know what could be better.

Posted 7 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Dont take me wrong, this is not bad rum. But I feel something strange in its taste like at whiskey. Other flavours in mouth are banana, nuts and honey. I prefer his younger brother.

#edit:
After couple of sips I have to admit that is better and better so I upgrade my rating to 8.

Posted 8 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

... but you don't taste it that much, I don't know how much was added - i guess not too much. For me it's a very harmonic and smooth rum.

Posted 9 months ago by GTLlama from United States with 1 rating

This rum has great balance between it's flavors, heat, and sweetness which is not overly strong. Sipping it on the rocks tones the heat down while the flavors get stretched out the longer you let it chill. What I tasted I'd say are creme banana and light chocolate on the back of oaky barrel aging which is not overpowering.

Posted 11 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Can not find this rum in my country. I bought this by net shop.
Nutty and banana flavor with cacao and vanilla, also butter caramel, not too sweet.
After drinking, the glasa has a custard flavor.