Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10 (349 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
12
32
98
160
41

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


349 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Mult laudatul El Dorado de 21 de ani nu e ceea ce te astepti sa fie. Sincer, sunt putin dezamagit de gustul unui rom de 21 de ani.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Made from rums of between 21 and 25 years of age, matured in 45 gallon oak casks, within six degrees of the equator in Guyana.
(I suppose the rum is aged in Single Malt Wiskey Cask)
-
Taste of:
you immediately feel a strong taste of single malt wiskey that characterizes the flavor,
caramel, vanilla, chocolate, orange peel ...
-
Conclusion:
Great Rum with, sweet, rich and very particular Aroma.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

wow. this is just perfect. i am still developing the words to really characterize a rum, but this is a 10 all day. perfect from nose, body, after taste, tail. i was really sad to finish my pour.

EDIT, had another chance at this rum. my 10 is confirmed. this is probably the best rum i have had and i really look forward to finding a bottle!!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Guyana
Aroma: Zajímavá vůně. Mix rumových pralinek, těžkého exotického dřeva, čokolády, rozinek a překvapivě i trochy ředidla. K tomu se přidává pryskyřičná větrovost. (87 b)
Chuť: Vůně a chuť si jsou velmi blízké. Čokoláda, dřevitost, větrovost a opět ten závan ředidla. (87 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem již několikrát, mám doma lahev. Rum to určitě není špatný, ale když přihlédnu k jeho ceně a k tomu, že obě mladší verze, 12 i 15 let jsou nejen výrazně levnější, ale i mi chutnají víc, tak ve výsledku je to vlastně zklamání. Čekal jsem, že se posunu ještě dál, opak byl pravdou.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by ProfessionalFloridian from United States with 13 ratings

In certain circles, rums aren't considered as refined and nuanced as other spirits, El Dorado 21 is my answer to them. It's moderately priced and reasonably available, but the craftsmanship, history, and sippablity of this rum puts it in league with the finest spirits on the market. It's a solid 9 out of 10, not just against other rums, but across the board. Toffy, vanilla, caramel, oak, black pepper, smoke, molasses, fig, notes of honey and sugar cane. I sip this rum after dinner, neat, no water, just straight rum and it's pretty damn close to perfect.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Martin Fink from United States with 10 ratings

Very similar to the 15 year old. Wonderful sipper, but too similar to the 15 year old to justify the increase in price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

This is a great sipping rum and it’s very smooth. So smooth that if you drink it on the rocks it has zero burn in the finish. Tastes like a delicious caramel treat. You’d be hard pressed to find a 21 year old that costs less than this one, so it’s actually a good value despite being around $90-$100 Canadian. I highly recommend this if you’re in the market for your first 20+ year old rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Var virkelig spændt på denne og havde store forventninger, og de blev indfriet. Den er det bedste fra 12 og års El Dorado. Virkelig dybde i smagen med mange smagsnuancer. El Dorado er virkelig en kvalitets rom. Den får ikke 10 pga. prisen, og jeg kommer nok til at vælge 15 års frem for 21, dels på grund adm prisen, og fordi forskellen ikke udpræget stor. Men absolut en topklasse rom

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Hubert from Belgium with 9 ratings

Juste un peu déçu par rapport au 15, cependant il m’apporte d’autres saveurs. Au vu du prix, je m’attendais à mieux.

Ffffff

Posted at The L Garage over 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Deep, amber color. Smooth, so smooth. This sipper is amazing. Soft feel. Light oak, fruity, leather. Light burn. The taste remains on the tongue. Buttery, delicious.
One of the best rums I've had. If you have the opportunity to try this, do not hesitate.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

This was on my want list for a long time. Tastes wonderful but I might just prefer the 15 year. I got a bottle of this and every time I would drink it I would get really bad heartburn afterwards because it was so sweet and syrupy. I would definitely recommend though and will probably get another bottle at some point.