Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
591 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
8
18
56
131
245
112
14

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

591 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by fens from Belgium with 11 ratings

belle découverte avec ce nectar
café chocolat et vanille et bien d'autres saveurs dans cette bouteille..
belle épaisseur en bouche

Small profile 1

Posted almost 6 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 115 ratings

This is the epitome of a thick sherry version of rum. Nice and sweet with a much heavier feel than most rums. Great peppery nose, and almost a walnut taste. The drawback to me is the finish, which is long and sticky - and seems to linger, but not in a great way.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 36 gpl. This was one of my favorite rums with a rating of 9. Sweet and and very smooth with tastes of Port and Sherry. The rating of 9 is for the version shown in the left of the picture. It's now April 2015 and I just purchased a replacement bottle. The packaging has changed with the telltale sign being the removal of the printed gold ring around the top of the cylinder the bottle comes in. The foil is a darker brown and the label is different. Most important is that the taste is also quite different. The new release is not as smooth or sweet, and a pronounced oak taste with a smokey burn in the mouth. I have tried this several ways and I ended up dumping the bottle. For this reason, I would rate the new vintage a 5 and not buy it again. The point of this is like a fine wine, if you find a rum that you really like, buy several bottles from the same store as subsequent releases can disappoint you. Update! It's 2020 and there is a new vintage out there. It's very good. Grab as many as you can if you liked the original Dos Maderas.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A different taste from the "usual" rums, but I like it a lot. The taste from the sherry casks does a really good job. I would love to taste the 10+5 some time. More of this please - certainly a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Dos Maderas PX 5x5 Rum er en meget speciel rom, med en utrolig stor fad smag, men ellers er smag og duft udmærket. Hvis den skal genkøbet går der et stykke tid.

Ffffff

Posted 9 years ago by Ania Be from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

this rum is unusual - aged in PX casks, it's just way sweeter than a rum should be! If you're in the mood for sweet - it goes down a treat though. Very sherry, thick and sweet. I like it.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by ogadelov from Israel with 5 ratings

Good for cocktails only.
If you like very sweet rums than this is for you, not much else

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 47 ratings

It’s a sweeter rum which I prefer. The flavor is almost exactly like Zacapra 23 before they started mass producing

Small 34 6

Posted 1 month ago by Vladmika from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Very good and smooth rum. The taste is very fruity and the color is very dark due to aging in cherry casks. I like sweeter rums with fruity taste at the end. So this one i can recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 64 ratings

Absolutní bomba pro milovníky portského a sherry.
Chuť a vůně sladká, ovocná, rozinková, vanilková…
V dochuti dominuje sherry.
Velmi oblíbený. Skvělý.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Thoomas from Slovakia with 20 ratings

It is a good choice for people who like Diplo RE, but this one is even sweeter. It's good rum, very smooth and fruity. But to say the truth, I was expecting a bit more of it. However, it doesn't change the fact that i enjoyed the rum.