Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
564 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
51
128
239
103
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

564 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 38 ratings

Intense cask taste. At start some alcohol vapors prevents full smell experience.
After 10-15 mins more aromas comes noticeable. All present vanilla as dominant (beside caks taste). Not to sweet. This is an interesting Rum, lots of flavors.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 36 gpl. This was one of my favorite rums with a rating of 9. Sweet and and very smooth with tastes of Port and Sherry. The rating of 9 is for the version shown in the left of the picture. It's now April 2015 and I just purchased a replacement bottle. The packaging has changed with the telltale sign being the removal of the printed gold ring around the top of the cylinder the bottle comes in. The foil is a darker brown and the label is different. Most important is that the taste is also quite different. The new release is not as smooth or sweet, and a pronounced oak taste with a smokey burn in the mouth. I have tried this several ways and I ended up dumping the bottle. For this reason, I would rate the new vintage a 5 and not buy it again. The point of this is like a fine wine, if you find a rum that you really like, buy several bottles from the same store as subsequent releases can disappoint you. Update! It's 2020 and there is a new vintage out there. It's very good. Grab as many as you can if you liked the original Dos Maderas.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A different taste from the "usual" rums, but I like it a lot. The taste from the sherry casks does a really good job. I would love to taste the 10+5 some time. More of this please - certainly a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Dos Maderas PX 5x5 Rum er en meget speciel rom, med en utrolig stor fad smag, men ellers er smag og duft udmærket. Hvis den skal genkøbet går der et stykke tid.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Ania Be from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

this rum is unusual - aged in PX casks, it's just way sweeter than a rum should be! If you're in the mood for sweet - it goes down a treat though. Very sherry, thick and sweet. I like it.

Small 20210307 191028

Posted 8 hours ago by Alfonso87 from Croatia with 9 ratings

Slatkasti, izražene arome višnje, punog tjela, karamela, genijalan rum

Small 64116897081  11377d8f 03cf 48d5 8ae5 15a58aab2d5e

Posted 2 days ago by Golden Age Timothy from United States with 2 ratings

I really enjoy this product over a rocks cube. Really nice soft flavors. And I'm a big fan PX + Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by 1marek from Croatia with 4 ratings

I've read stories they put some P. Ximenez sherry in this rum and by the taste of it, I could definitely believe those stories. The thing I don't like about this rum is that you get a taste of wet wood, as if someone washed a sherry wine barrel with it. Its not a pleasant oak as usual, but like licking a wet oak barrel. Also, it's too sweet and the taste of sherry is a bit too much for my liking. But otherwise it's an interesting rum, I like when producers get out of the box so it was an interesting try. You get raisins and fruit in the taste, and sherry adds a hefty body and a long aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Shaymus from Canada with 7 ratings

This particular rum was a gift from my daughter, who brought it over and used to make the most wonderful Mai Tai’s. Later I tested it with some Mexican cola and it was wonderful! Smooth and easy to sip, Carmel and vanilla flavours with a bit of fruit flavours. Will look for it again and keep in the cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Terzi from Italy with 20 ratings

I taste for the first time a Dos Maderas Rum. I like the idea of aging in different barrels. The first taste was ok, a very strong taste of malt.

Small img 20201128 wa0005

Posted 26 days ago by Roberto from Luxembourg with 41 ratings

Very dark and smooth. By the right temperature, it smells very smooth and a little sweet. Maybe vanilla and citrus.