Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Barbados rum

Rate Plantation 2001 Barbados

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Plantation 2001 Barbados ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This rum embodies the essence of discernment between what is referred to in harsh terms as "heat", and what is affectionately referred to as "warmth" when talking about alcohol taste.

2001 Barbados warms the palate and throat in the best way I’ve ever experienced. It's smooth, with a dominant butterscotch note on the smell and taste, and the finish is warm and soothing. Everything else takes a back note to mostly butterscotch and vanilla notes, however, the dominant flavours don't overwhelm the palate. For extra credit, even if you've had a bit too much of it and gotten a bit tipsy, the flavour is still right there with you until the very end.

Bravo Plantation! The 2001 Barbados is top notch to me!

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I am rapidly becoming a fan of the Plantation brand. This is the second type of Plantation rum I've purchased and it is just awesomeness in a bottle. I think I will have to pursue more of their other rums to see if those are as good. I ranked the first Plantation brand rum (Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) as a 9 as well but I look at is as a 9.95 for the XO to a 9.75 for the 2001 Barbados. Incredibly smooth, somewhat sweet with a nice vanilla undertone. Not really a burn but an enveloping warmth coating the back of the throat. A true sipping rum. I don't think I will be using this in mixed drinks or Coke Zero. If you run across a bottle of this, buy it immediately. But save for special occasions.

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Na XO 20 to samozřejmě nemá ani z dálky, ale za své peníze (700-800 Kč) dostanete, co jste chtěli, a je to určitě lepší než mnohé jiné rumy z Barbadosu v této cenové kategorii, zejména pokud nemáte rádi příliš sladké.
Opakovat to ale nemíním (a nejspíš ani zkoušet jiné ročníky).

Posted about 3 years ago by Joey from United States with 10 ratings

In my opinion yes. Probably my favorite rum that I have had so far. Very similar to the XO in terms of flavor (lots of sweetness but never cloying) with an added touch of funk/grass. Full bodied. Outstanding.

Posted 6 months ago by mswoodruff (PREMIUM) from Singapore with 16 ratings

Great aroma and smooooth. Certainly not a bad tipple

Posted 9 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Given to me by David. Was a good rum. Never could find it anywhere. Just rememer it was a good one

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

This is Island life in liquid form. Closest I can get to a beach, ocean breeze, waves at my feet, and an arm around Rihanna all from my living room.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 133 ratings

I tred several Platation The Vingage series, which was as good a choice as Nicaragua 2003 and Peru 2004.
Very enjoyable.It has vanilla, coconut, baked fruits, and a deep flavor like chocolate.

Posted over 1 year ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce rhum est moins sur l agrume que le20eme anniversaire.Mais ses notes vanillées et léger agrumes sont un régal.trés bon rhum plus traditionnel que le 20 ème anniversaire.pour les puristes c est un régal.meme si le20eme anniversaire Barbade reste au dessus.note globale 8.5.

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

See, Brugal uses a fish net stocking. Typical!
You, you use plant fiber to trap your rum. Now that's initiative!

And what you've caught is a totally decent amber sipper for the price point. Hell, it's even been a great substitute for darks in Dark 'n Stormies. But back to it - totally worth kicking back and relaxing with on the rocks. It's got all the good dessert flavors, plus a smoldering oaky ember on the backend.

Comparable to Diplomatico Reserva, minus the dried fruit notes.

Posted over 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Purchased at Total Wine - $53.99. My favorite rum is the Plantation 20 Yr which I use as a benchmark. This 2001 Barbados is a bit lighter in color, not as deep amber as others. Light nose with a slight smell of alcohol. Even though it is 42% alcohol, the taste is a bit lighter than expected. Clean with a very smooth finish. Very enjoyable - I'll want to try the others from this collection as well.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I don't know if I got a weird batch, but I'm having the hardest time deciphering this flavor profile. Yes I read the label, but I'm still confused. I taste banana, but that's all. I agree with the "softness" of it. I will admit it is an amazingly smooth rum and is a great sipper, however the flavor throws me off. I'm merely ranking it from the smoothness and the drinkability.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Let it rest a minute to breathe. Sip. Stop. Rest. Repeat. Patiently. This has got spunk. And funk. Stays with you. Stewed Stone fruit? Dry. Good.

Posted over 1 year ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

Plantation Barbados 2001
Origine : Barbados
42.0 %
70cl
Nez : cire, miel, fleur , odeur iodé, (léger)
Bouche :note iodé, fruit sec, pain grillé vers la finale

Posted about 2 years ago by Ambros from Netherlands with 20 ratings

One of the better ones from the Plantation vintage line up

Posted over 2 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 28 ratings

Rum barbadosról. 11 évet érett bourbonos hordóban..igazán komplex ízkavalkád. Édesgyümölcsös, picit mentás, pikáns fűszeres,minden egyes korty igazi felfedezés , a palack is mutatós !!

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

42% ABV. N: Hmm, rubbing alcohol that fortunately dissipates quickly. Dark caramel. Noticeable pot-still influence. P: No surprises here. You get balanced oak, cane, molasses, fruit. Trademark Plantation sweetness, but nicely tempered. Goes down easy.

Way better than the 5-year "Grand Reserve," but still kinda boring IMO. Good for the beginning collector (who also drinks, of course).

7+, 8--

Posted over 2 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

Great sipper, sweet but not to much. fairly priced but hard to find these days.

Posted over 2 years ago by Oscar from Belgium with 5 ratings

Excellent rum from Barbados. Clasic, off-swet rum, with medium intense citrus nose, harmonic and enjoyable warm rum. Very long, integrated alkohol.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

This one seems to go by different names. Mine is called a Gand Cru, but i think it's essentially the same rum just with a different label.

It has a faint smell of stewed fruit, pineapple and banana. Those flavours are all present in the mouth, as are an alcoholic burn, a dryness and a deep lying sweetness, a subtle hint of brown sugar and maybe the slight zest of star fruit. Certainly, it has more of a tropical note than many rums.

Even if you hadn't seen the bottle, you'd know instantly that this was a Plantation rum. It has that sweetness to it (here in the background rather than foreground) and that smell of tropical fruits and the warming burn on the tongue and back of the throat - not harsh but certainly powerful.

This is bottled at 42% so has a depth, and it is perhaps a little resonant of the Pineapple Stiggins in that there's a strong hint of fruit - but here that fruit is a subtle mixed note, whereas the Stiggins is clearly pineapple in the middle of the flavour though not overpoweringly so. This is also an older rum, much less sweet, more composed and the kick is much more subtle compared to the Stiggins, which has the kick of a mule if you let it hit the back of your throat.

All in all a very fine rum and certainly a refined sipper worthy of time and, perhaps, a fine cigar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

This has to be one of the lightest rums i have ever tasted. coconut in flavor with a splash of pineapple.
It would be great on a hot day at the beach. then again, so would anything.

Posted over 2 years ago by Gabor Ertl from Hungary with 28 ratings

Hozza amit Barbadosról kell, könnyű-közepes test, lágy vajkaramellás illat, kicsi vanília. Nem egy komplex ezerízű rum, egyszerűen kerek. A szájban egyáltalán nem éget inkább melenget, nagy élmény kortyolgatni, és úgy érzed édesnek, hogy eszedbe sem jut a cukor.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Sarah Bennett from United Kingdom with 1 rating

A true rum. Very aromatic flavours and I have to say it's the best rum I've ever used for sunstroke!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Barbados 2001 Plantation in itself is not a bad rum, but comparing it to a very similarly priced XO 20th Anniversary and you will be in a different league in a heart beat. Barbados 2001 has much stronger burn and much less flavors than the older sibling XO 20th Anniversary. Save your money and go straight to the best rum out there.




#