Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10
156 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
24
55
46
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

156 Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Celia Miner 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

We prefer the Gunpowder Proof, but the 15-year old is right up there.

Rum un 🇬🇧 | 59 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Despite it being warming stuff this is surprisingly smooth and can be drunk neat but I prefer with ginger beer.

Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

After I really enjoyed the Blue Label Pusser's I decided to buy one of the 15yo for 35€ on amazon, what was really reasonable and a great price. Normallly this Rum is more in the 45-50€ area. And yes this Rum has everything. Deep, complex smell, heavy long lasting taste. The only questions is, if it is worth to pay the double price of the Blue lable, which is yet great.

Stig Wolff 🇩🇰 | 166 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

En dejlig sød rom med smag af eg.
Den virker helt som en sherry.
En rigtig kraftig mande rom til søen folk.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Loaded with added sugar, which completely masks this rum's true flavors. Big disappointment.

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 140 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Molasses, wood and iodine on the nose. This carries through to the palate which also has a wonderful acidity present, to leave a really mouth watering drop. The length is persistent if a little medium bodied. Sophisticated, complex and a really good rum. 8½.

IvoK 🇨🇿 | 53 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose:Wooden,cork,medium strong
Taste:no added sugar,oak,nonsharp,adult
Tail:very moderate,with no alcohol punch
One of the best in my cabinet.The bottle/etiquette could be nicer,but the taste is great.Recommended to drink at 13C.

Brad Cannon 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Based on the reviews on this site ended up buying a bottle and glad I did. Marginally prefer the Zacapa XO but this one gives it a run for it's money given the price point difference. Really good complexity and balance, nice kick, bit of a burn but not overpowering. Straight up all the way with this one!

David 🇩🇪 | 93 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I am a huge fan of Pusser's, the red label in particular. I bought this one because I hoped it would be a little bit smoother and milder and thus give away some more hints of taste.
However, it doesn't seem to be considerably smoother or milder. The only thing that makes it stand out is the strong fruity/floral taste that isn't that noticeable on the other Pusser's rums.

Jonas R 🇩🇰 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Har ikke den store erfaring med navy-rom, men den her kan godt blive startskudet til jagten på mere af samme skuffe.

greg k 🇫🇷 | 35 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Je n'en attendais pas moins, marqué par l'alambic à repasse en bois, les 15 vrais années, pas de solera à l'espagnol, pur british. Blend jamaique, guyana et trinidad, au nez surprenant, pas de comparaison avec ce que je connais. en bouche, sirupeux, équilibré, doux et vanillé, boisé. Finish un poil court, donc on y retourne. Good sipper, thanks navy