Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Bacardi Reserva Ocho Rare Gold 8-Year rum

Bacardi Reserva Ocho Rare Gold 8-Year

United States | Aged | 40% ABV

6.1/10
129 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
1
6
4
17
52
29
19
1
0

Rate Bacardi Reserva Ocho Rare Gold 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

129 Bacardi Reserva Ocho Rare Gold 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Sorgh 🇨🇿 | 28 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I don't expect any miracle but it is very good rum. Bourbon taste is expessive, not a much sugar.

Co Ka 🇨🇭 | 88 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

But not go dringing straight.
The smell is Bacardi like, mainstream.
Light burn and not many flavors.
And not a long lasting aftertaste.

Dagot 🇷🇺 | 12 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I gave bacardi last chance to imprese me with the good rum. Disapointing again. Typicall for bacardi taste - caramel sweetness and alchohol aftertaste . Nose - "grassy"-like with the alchohol background. Nothing more. Where does it spent his 8 years?
I tasted all the main lineup of Bacardi rums, and i must say that Bacardi cannot make a taste, good rum, only cheap mass product for getting drunk. For me Bacardi dead as a rum producer.

lubdas 🇧🇬 | 20 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Евтин входящ ром, който може да се пие чист или разреден с кока-кола или друго. За 25€ нямах големи очаквания, а и той не ме изненада с нищо.

chikasale71 🇷🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Did not expect to much from this 28 Eur rum. After tasting it I was pleasantly suprised. Not bad at all.

Mr Coone 🇧🇪 | 20 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Opened the bottle 20-30 min before tasting

Light intense copper-golden colour with a big water edge.
Light intense in the nose with aroma's of smoke, spices and some caramel.

Soft start on the palate with aroma's of oloroso sherry, wood, spices and some whiskey-hints.
Long finish

The aroma's are not my personal favour, but this is absolutely a very good distillate. Nicely balanced and good length.
Score: 81/100

mmredsox85 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Caveat: This is my first review of a rum I have seen from some reviews might be a good, standalone sipper. I am a newbie to the rum review world so have limited experiences to compare to.
- Appearance: A dark, inviting amber
- Nose: A nicely subtle sweet, caramel and vanilla note
- Palate: It comes across immediately with the sweet caramel and vanilla flavor the nose promised prevailing. With coaxing, there is a very, very, slight hint of smoke and the tiniest alcohol bite. The finish is nice.
- Overall: I like the sweetness in this offering. It makes for a pretty smooth, easy going sipper on a quiet evening after a good meal. Sweet, warming and enjoyable. Better than the affordable price might indicate, IMHO.

Goodoboy30 🇺🇸 | 40 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This is the only Bacardi I can stomach. It's really very good. Great neat.

rumrunner 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

On the nose it’s quite fruity with a touch of wood and slight ethanol. It isn’t quite as fruity in the palate but there is a prominent apricot or dark cherry nite followed by some wood and sweetness. All in all it isn’t bad and it’s a little unique, however, for the money I would rather have a few other rums that are considerably better.

Robert 🇺🇸 | 109 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

It's not terrible but it's definitely not a sipper. Decent, affordable mixer.

OdysseusUnbound 🇨🇦 | 40 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Many rum purists (myself included at times) dismiss Bacardi as a "mainstream mixer" not worthy of a more "advanced" palate. Yes, that's supposed to sound snobby and pretentious. This bottling is a totally acceptable mutlipurpose rum. It works in an Old Fashioned, a rum and coke, and in a bind it's not so bad on the rocks. I won't fight you for a bottle, but it's a decent rum. It's a bit sweet for my tastes, but there is a little oakiness and a few other flavour notes (vanilla, oak) are present. Give this one a chance if the price is right.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Bacardi
Country: United States
ABV: 40%
Name: Reserva Ocho Rare Gold 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading...