Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Mike πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 1 rating
Posted 9 years ago

Love the colour and the price but not smooth enough for me.

Erik πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 17 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Ok for mixing but nothing else. I wouldnt buy this rum again though.

Mark πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

As far as standard mixing rums go this has to be up there with the best. It’s not too bad as a sipper either.

toblo πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

este ron es uno de los mejores en relacion precio vs calidad, bien destilado y sin sabores alcoholados

Ksilver πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 14 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Makes for a decent mixer with cola but I do not find it smooth enough to drink straight.

It is smoother then a lot of rums at that price point, but what it makes up for in smoothness it lacks in flavour

Aubreywan πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 20 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I'm highly impressed with this. I was expecting this to be more of an OK mixing rum, looking at the price (under $20). But, WOW! I'll keep my Kraken for mixing, but this is definitely one I will be sipping.

Casi 1896 πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Guter Rum zum Mixen. Cuba Libre Deluxe. Kann ich nur weiterempfehlen

Phil πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 29 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

The best value on an average supermarket shelf. I enjoy straight up but with a mixer sets a very high bar. Great to keep in the cabinet!

Bill Rogers πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This was the rum that got me drinking darker rum. Not the best but a good mixing rum and can be used on the rocks when not being picky. Good mixer with a lot of sugar.

nomad πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 137 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

My go to mixer. Great with coca cola, ginger ale sprite and the like. Mixes well with practically anything. I've tried many rums over the years, but Mount Gay Eclipse is always what I return to for a great mixer.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...