Hamilton 2004 St. Lucia 9-Year rum

Hamilton 2004 St. Lucia 9-Year

Multiple | Aged

8.9/10
8 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3

Rate Hamilton 2004 St. Lucia 9-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Hamilton 2004 St. Lucia 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Bottled straight from the cask labeled 67.4% ABV. I found it for $62 plus tax. Considering that your going to want to have a water back on hand, unless your some deranged pirate, it'll spread out longer than your standard spirit. This proof is an unequivocal victory flag for the true rummy in that you get to decide how much water to add which is not a small thing. The depth of flavors and character is immense and reveals itself along the way as you acclimate and add water to preference. At no point of dilution have I found this rum to be lacking or compromised. It's simply solid.
The Flavor... pot still molasses. Rich ripe tropics and 9 years in the cask that's left a solid mark. Though not overly oaked and not overly dry. The wood adds a spice on the top and I find myself happily getting lost with my nose lingering above the rim. This rum deserves to be sipped from a heavy Baccarat tumbler or the likes of. It's resolved in it's stature.
It's the real deal zero additives straight from the cask rum. A true pleasure to experience. A solid 10

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 256 ratings
Posted 19 days ago

Have been looking for this bottle for some time, so glad I finally located and bought 3 of them.

Immediately after opening the bottle a strong aroma of alcohol, molasses and brown sugar was released from the bottle making me wonder if I should dilute it, which would be totally against my rules. I let the rum sit in my glass for 10 minutes and nosed the rum once again. Very very strong indeed but so inviting. First sip did not disappoint with loads of molasses, burnt sugar and a bit of a funk similar to but not as strong as some Jamaican rums. This rum is definitely potent but so flavourful and enjoyable even at this strength, no burn for me and simply delightful.

Have had one other Hamilton rum (62% ABV) and in spite of their high ABV these rums are so well balanced they are totally enjoyable neat. Excellent rum but IMO not worth a “10” score.

mdkempfert 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted 25 days ago

Tasted this neat at a tiki bar in San Francisco.

This is a very interesting pot still rum! The intensity of the flavors is reminiscent of a Jamaican pot still rum but the flavors present are wildly different.

Nose is powerful.

There’s a bitter taste that survives throughout the tasting, and there are some notes of caramel and vanilla. But the dominant flavor is unique to this rum (as far as my tasting exposure is aware of): a vinyl kind of flavor. It’s strange but my Jamaican oriented palate finds this flavor…not particularly appealing.

I feel like this is a good rum though, but that vinyl flavor prevents me from rating it higher.

abrarey 🇺🇸 | 64 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Got a sample on this one.
On the nose lots of caramel or toffee notes.
The palate is strong with more toffee notes. The aftertaste is prolonged with some bitterness resembling coffee.
Truly amazing I need to get a bottle of this one quickly. My second 10 in RumRatings

JAHinojos 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

We got this to celebrate our 25th Anniversary and it did not disappoint. It is very strong. You can taste every year of the aging as it has a definite smokey taste. As it is cask proof, I would recommending a little dilution. It is like drinking a fine scotch. Without the dilution there will be a long burn. There is a great Agricore after taste and that wonderful flavours of Agricore rhum.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Please don't expect this to be like anything from st lucia distillers because well its just not. This really is different. Its so strong that the guest I had over while I was sipping this could smell it in my glass from across the room. Reminds me a scotch when I drink it.

themoderndiplomat 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I started out thinking this one was a touch too aggressive. Heavy tannic pull from each sip. But it really grew on me and came to be one of my more thought about pours. Delicious dram though as mentioned very assertive.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 192 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Baaaaaaaaaaam! That says it all at 126 proof this stuff is like sticking a red hot poker in your mouth. With a dousing of sulfuric acid. The burn keeps going and going and going and......it's still going.... Wow and then WHO Nelly. Well it's just about done burning and it has a decent finish even though ur gonna have to wait for the New Year to enjoy it...