Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve rum

Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve

France | Aged

7.9/10
35 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
19
7
3

Rate Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

35 Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" 🇺🇸 | 81 ratings

That's about all there is to be said unfortunately. If you know, you know. If you want details, look at my review of Kaniche XO (both made by Maison Ferrand) and imagine a slightly sweeter and less potent version of that, with a little more alcohol burn. This is not bad rum by any stretch of the imagination, but for an older offering from one of my favorite brands, finished in the casks of one of my favorite wines, I feel like this could have been something much more special.

Posted over 4 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2886 ratings

My colleague found a rare bottle of Plantation Guatemala XO and when trying it out, it was like cognac. Super dry, very good flavors though but the burn was bad. He seemed to like it a lot, whereas I was very honest about my disappointment with the Guatemala XO. Barbados XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 10 rum list, whereas this one falls hopelessly short for a very good aged rum definition.

Posted 6 years ago by Peter 🇭🇺 | 91 ratings

Eventhough i wouldn't buy it again,it is a very nice ,strongly limited rum. I missed the famous Guadeloupe edition which sold out quick,ad i didnt want to make the same mistake. So i purchased a bottle of this single cask rum (16 casks only,450 bottles each) which matures in french sweet-wine casks at the end. Very fruiry,not extremely sweet. A wonderful rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Maximum Bob 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings

Honestly, 100 Proof alcohol should not go down this easy and taste this good. This is not a tasting note powerhouse like a Foursquare, but if you want a light, sweetly flavorful experience that rests in a price range between sipper and mixer and serves well as both, buy this right now. It tastes better than the Plantation 20th and that is saying something.

Posted over 3 years ago by 25RdR 🇳🇱 | 21 ratings

I've got bottle 128/150 in the Netherlands.
Very good rum with a long and delicious finish. Love the bottle design too

Posted 4 years ago by Herman 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings

Purchased in Springfield, MA at Table & Vine for $39.99. Plantation is my favorite brand and I usually like everything they make. So here goes... color is a golden amber, a little lighter than other rums. Nose is light with that Plantation flair. Delicate taste, complex middle and easy finish. There is a slight fruit flavor, perhaps banana.

Posted over 4 years ago by Darrell 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings

Very complex with a great aroma. Best finish of any rum I have had. Try this one, you won't be disappointed.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings

I have bottle No 428 out of 450! this needs to btief for at least 15 minutes! it is smooth and with body.

Posted 4 months ago by henrik pedersen 🇩🇰 | 112 ratings

Spændene Trinidad Rum fra Plantation. Jeg syntes den er god

Posted 7 months ago by Lee Martinek 🇸🇪 | 41 ratings

Very close to perfection. A great smell, taste and a really great finish. If you get the opportunity to taste this, then do it. You will not be disapointed.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B 🇺🇸 | 426 ratings

Very rarely does a new rum break into my top ten percent rated. Since this rum stated being aged in amburana casks for six months and I am big fan of Avua Amburana Cachaca, this was a no brainer to purchase at $50 US.

In the snifter, the amburana wood is very obvious in the aroma. I would call this one as semi-dry, since it has legs in the snifter and Plantation is well known for adding sugar. However, it is not over done. This one also beats the pants off the other Guatemalen rum that is easily available, Ron Zacapa. The final aging was in cognac casks, but the initial aging in amburana casks dominates the cognac casks. Very well done!!!! Truly harmonious!

For anyone unfamiliar with the taste of amburana wood aging, I will make a vague attempt to describe the flavor. Imagine a very exotic tropical hardwood like this one is, with slight hints of cinnamon and balsa wood. The rest of the tasting notes is like nothing else most of us have ever tried, which is what makes this rum totally unique. A mere six months of initial aging in amburana wood still dominates the taste profile, but it took years of aging in former bourbon barrels and cognac casks to tone it down. In other words, don't knock this rum just because you have never tasted spirits aged in amburana wood casks. You will either love it or hate it!




Brand Details

Name: Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve
Company: Plantation
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
543
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513