Posting your rating...
Golden Age Spirits Marque Reserve Exxtra Anejo rum

Golden Age Spirits Marque Reserve Exxtra Anejo

United States | Aged

Marque Reserve Exxtra Anejo is a blend of 3 Caribbean rums that are aged in bourbon barrels for at least 8 years. This blend has zero sugar nor any artificial sweeteners.

A portion of the company's proceeds supports oceanic conservation non-profits via their Clean7Seas.org anti-plastic clean ocean initiative. All their packaging is ethically sourced and plastic-free.

6.9/10
27 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
2
4
15

Rate Golden Age Spirits Marque Reserve Exxtra Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Golden Age Spirits Marque Reserve Exxtra Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

This rum isn't bad, but it's not great. I get toasty, but it's thin and lacks depth. Seems like a cheaper rum. I had it straight up.

Posted 3 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

Harsh, burns on first taste not a whole lot redeeming here. I question all the 9-10 rating reviewers with this as their only rum reviewed, 1 review. Anyway far from greatness, would never purchase this received as bonus from my tasting batch so no fowl. I think my review is the only honest true rum connoisseur review. A 5 is generous save your money!

Posted over 1 year ago by reggino from United States with 1 rating

Probably the best aged rum I've had in a long time, maybe ever. I'm more of a bourbon & anejo tequila guy but I found this so easy to drink! Love it neat even at 90 proof. Lots of wood, smoky oak, vanilla/caramel nose but bone dry. Amazing that there's no sugar. Great rum, killer bottle. It's new--I'm definitely recommending.

Posted over 1 year ago by Handsome Alex from United States with 88 ratings

Light on the nose with a hint of caramel and toffee, the first sip fills the mouth with a subtle sweetness followed by hints of oak and maple with just a little warmth left behind and a lingering flavor that can only be described as "rum". Several layers that you have to take the time to pick out, with hidden notes of vanilla, apple cider, charred oak, and caramel. Bottled at 90 proof (45% ABV), this is a surprisingly smooth sipper to enjoy neat.

Posted 3 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

This was an interesting rum to try given all the 10 ratings from people that only rated this rum.
But it isn't nearly that good to me.

It tasted a bit strong at 45% abv, which is a nice abv only when the rum is really good.

Dry, with a small hint of caramel, vanilla, leather and charred oak. Not enough flavor and a bit too much abv for its taste to me.

Posted 2 months ago by Rick (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 42 ratings

Very smooth, with 45% ABV. Some sweetness and a very long finish.

Posted at Macao Trading Co over 1 year ago by ivanradulovic78 from United States with 1 rating

Appearance: Dark brown color, baltic amber on swirling leave even coat.
First Impression: Leather, balanced molasses, Medjool dates, vanilla, barrel char, spice (but no heat).
Taste: Subtle and complex at the same time. With initial sweetness on the first sip, it dries out to a dry complexity with fruits, allspice, vanilla, cinnamon, oak wood char. Slightly leathery, woody fade.

Posted over 1 year ago by RMorgan from United States with 1 rating

I found this rum to be very well balanced, woody and light with subtle notes of allspice and vanilla. When I looked into the origins of this rum, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it's blended from different rum regions/ countries. Perhaps this is the reason for the clear difference between Marque Reserve and the classic rums I've been buying for years. This will, without doubt, be my rum of choice moving forward. Absolutely love it!

Posted over 1 year ago by Ihatetop40 from United States with 1 rating

Mellow rich vanilla. A touch caramel. A touch nutty. There's kind of a cool cola thing going on too. The nose is great. There's a little turpentine. Pleasantly bone dry as there is zero sweetner (very smooth considering). And a nice long finish. The nose is complex as is the palette. And considering it's 45% abv, it's masked pretty well. A sophisticated rum for sure that i find to be quite versatile. Solid spirit!

Posted over 1 year ago by joeyL from United States with 1 rating

Admittedly, I'm more of a bourbon guy... but i recently had a go with this and am now in love! Strong notes of vanilla and toffee coupled with island spices any rum should have followed by the smoky/woody barrel char that only ex-bourbon barrel aging can provide. Surprisingly sweet for a bone dry rum and deceptively smooth -- highly recommended!

Posted 2 months ago by Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 47 ratings

This is a good dry rum. A bit hot with the initial taste, good finish. Not sure if I'd call it a good supper, but it could be interesting mixed into a cocktail.