Posting your rating...
Centenario 30-Year rum

Centenario 30-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

9.1/10 (106 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
11
44
43

Rate Centenario 30-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


106 Centenario 30-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I had the opportunity to taste the 20 years and the 25 years and I waited to taste this version 30 years at a rum fest or private tasting because as some of you the price was a brake and the comments were not necessarily positive. The day arrived when I finally tasted this rum. The conditions were not optimal but to seeing the heads of my colleagues during this tasting, our opinions all went in the same direction. This rum is in line with the two younger ones with the same aromas. Caramel, molasses, pastry notes. In the mouth, the sweetness is immediately present with vanilla all in finesse. And this may be the problem, it is too sweet even though this is usually the case with very old rum. You get the impression that he has not much to say, that he expressed all the complexity and then nothing ... We were disappointed and seen the price a lot of people prefer the 25th on the 20th Now this is always a matter of taste and nothing should be taken away from the work behind this quality rum. But for the same price jump on the Malteco 1987.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I really love the Centenario 20, 25, and XX, so I decided to open this bottle for my 75th review. It's truly exceptional as well.

Smells of caramel, molasses, oak, and vanilla. This is slightly less sweet but more complex than the Centenario 20 and 25, but it is still very nicely sweet (I have a bit of a sweet tooth, which is why I like rum to begin with). Another exceptional offering from Ron Centenario!

Pro tip - The Centenario rums are one of the rums that I've noticed get a lot better after they've aeriated. Let them sit at least 10 min after pouring before reviewing/drinking.

C26ef43d440de0d1e636cb444a8e9f6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Goldtyger from United States with 11 ratings

In my opinion. One of the best rums in the world. On the sweet side perfection

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 142 ratings

My first tasting was in France, then again at Rumfest London 2016. It's a seriously beautiful rum with a butterscotch nose and sweet taste with hazelnut, slight oak, and vanilla. Ends with a loud floral finish that stays almost too sweet. I could easily sip this all night - MUST TRY!

64aa056240964aa7a9176d4b1d95ff83.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

For me, the real question is would I rather have two 25 year bottles, or one 30 year. There is no doubt that this is a better rum. But is it worth the price to justify it. I guess for me, I would rather must drink the 25 year. (My second favorite rum) and get twice as much. The nose, the flavor is amazing on this rum. It's as smooth as any rum out there, with no alcohol bite. Yes please, I will have another.

D7eb657c87cde2ef48e9dbaf4403c49f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by MiroO from Slovakia with 10 ratings

The best rum I ever had. Very delicious taste. The price is higher but it's equal to that quality.

F6af6a05e607a1c62cf7e99384a9452d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by John from United States with 1 rating

It took a very long to to make this rum and it took almost (seemingly) as long for me to find a bottle that I did not need to import from France!

With that said this is worth the wait, the price and I agree with many of the positive reviews. My first taste of Oak, Molasses, and hints of vanilla hooked me all the way. Now that I have found a place where I can easily purchase this rum, I have added a couple of bottles to the back of my bar, and would recommend that you do.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Ron Centenario 30y while vacationing in Costa Rica. Ron Centenario 30 year old is easily available in all the local grocery stores at $110 a bottle, which is a very good value. Cardboard box is nice and sturdy. Oval bottle is very nice and high end. Deep amber color. The initial flavor is very nice and complex with strong toffee flavors but the taste turns into mild whisky like quickly. Very mild burn at the end. I can now easily see why Ron Centenario 30y has been scoring so high marks.

742a36fa431be4384a577d8eee260d9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Great rum and lucky enough to have been to Costa Rica. Cost only £65 over there so superb value. In my opinion better than Appleton 21 and flor de Cana 25. Amazingly smooth rum.

63460962acf5e9c183072339bb660fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

This is real good stuff!
It is very sweet and tasty!
One of my new favourites!!!!

Ac87e0556b4c8034515926b3e4e7f445.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

I don't agree that this is worse than the 25 year old. Not as sweet and much more complex. If it's worth the extra cash, is up to you. I'm glad I got it.