Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gold rum

Bacardi Gold rum is manufactured in Puerto Rico where it is distilled from fermented molasses. It is then filtered through charcoal and aged in charred oak barrels for between 1 and 2 years. Unlike Bacardi Superior, Bacardi Gold is only filtered once.

Bacardi's official logo, a fruit bat, dates to 1862 when founder Don Facundo Bacardi found fruit bats living in rafters of the building he bought to house the distillery. Bats are considered an omen of good luck in Cuba and have emblazoned Bacardi rum bottles ever since.

Rate Bacardi Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


246 Bacardi Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Takes me back to college. Haven't had since and may not have again. Mixed ok in a cuba libre.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is very bad rum for drinking straight. If you're going to drown it in cola or mixers, why not buy a better mixing rum (e.g. something by El Dorado or Flor de Cana or Seale) and watch your drinking life improve. Also, you'll attract better friends.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 3 ratings

I bought this rum before I read all the heinous reviews on this website, which made me worry that I'd made a terrible mistake.

It turns out that, in my opinion, this is a fine rum, great for mixing and not bad for sipping.

It smells of vanilla, clove, and caramel, with only a very sense of alcohol. I almost get a whiff of black cherry as well.

The taste is gently sweet and very spicy. Not much burn, but it does have more bite than similar rums at the same price, although a cube of ice clears that up easily.

The aftertaste is refreshing and has a vanilla and apricot flavor.

I will concede that it lacks the complexities of a good sipping rum, but it isn't unpleasant on its own.

In short, if you had to buy one bottle of cheap rum for both people who like mixing and people who like sipping, it's a decent choice -- especially if you can't find Cruzan 9.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Yes, I have tasted it, but I'm trying to avoid it. There are even worse ones, but hopefully I don't have to taste them.

Posted over 6 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

A step above engine degreaser. Strong alcohol aroma and taste...almost confused it with a whiskey.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I didn't like this. A very unimpressive drink. It tastes chemically to me. Give it a miss, it's not for any sort of quality libation!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Matt Thomas from United States with 11 ratings

There's only one way to drink this. What it was made for. Cuba libres. Aka rum and coke. Be sure to add plenty of lime. Don't know why all the bad reviews. It was made for a specific purpose. GAI. (Get after it)

Posted over 5 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Mixer only as most Bacardi rums are. Mixes easily with cola which masks most flavors

Posted almost 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Its better than their white or the oakheart. I bought it to taste it, and that is all I did with it and then put it back on the bottom shelve behind everything.

Posted 4 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

This smells like the bathroom in a sorority house during a basic white girl party. It does have slightly more flavor than a basic white girl but it will singe your nose hair as it hits your palette. Mix it in a Mai Tai with something else for God's sake.

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Bacardi gold Works great and drinks and a combination of other rooms.

Posted about 2 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 17 ratings

If you're into "Jungle Juice" style fruit juicy punch type mixed drinks, you'll be fine with Bacardi Gold. Rum & cola, go elsewhere. If you like your rum on the rocks or neat, the only reason to have this around is to fill your tiki torches with it and hope it keeps the mosquitos away.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

While I drink mostly aged rums, I had a chance to sample Ron Carioca White Rum side by side with Bacardi Gold Rum. I am not a fan of Bacardi rums and Bacardi Gold did nothing to change my views. It felt like a very young and blend rum that I presume would qualify for a mixing rum at best. As for the Ron Cariaco, I found very little information on his white rum (see pic) which was not even listed in Rumratings. It was definitely better than Bacardi Gold but not much better. Probably acceptable as a mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

Horrible stuff. Why is this the standard well rum? No wonder more Americans don't like rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

If you're a frat boy looking to get drunk cheap, feel free to purge this into the toilet it belongs in at the end of the night.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hates Bacardi gold from United States with 1 rating

Tastes like olives. Nasty nasty stuff. Yer better off fermenting your own fruits. The botchalism is worth not drinking this crap. Worst alcohol I've ever tasted. I'd rather eat the bottom of a used boot heel. Gross, disgusting waste of money. You'll be hard pressed to find a good review

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Generic bottom barrel rum. Tastes of gasoline. Very bad rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

What can I say, if you pour enough coke in it it tastes like coke. My years of cheap drinks at the bars are hopeful long gone. If you want to get a cheap rum go for cruzan over Bacardi.

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

Since bacardi is pretty popular in pop culture i thought it would a average captain morgan like drink, but boy was i wrong it is very overated. The taste brings nothing to the coke better of with another cheap rum than barcardi. Since i've tried barcardi gold i tried to stay away from anything else that starts with barcardi and to get rid of that bottle i would bring it at party's and share with everyone.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

At first - I despise Bacardí in favour of Havana Club. It's harder with top shelf bottles, but it's easy with basic selection. Overall quality score is better for Havana and the price tag is almost the same. Havana miss the Dark rum and Oro/Gold one, but they are not essential. As I occasionally enjoy Havana 3 Aňos on rock, Bacardí is no go here with any basic bottle. Bacardí basics are bit better than Morgan's, but you can get Morgan's with lower price tag and makes it better pick. This Gold one is even worse than Bacardí black with it's weird off taste (the harder taste of Black could be covering it up, I guess).

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

I do not really like Bacardi. Something tastes off about it. The only thing this is good for is mixing with coke or fruit juices, bet even then you get a glimmer of the taste.

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

Overall, as an available gold rum, I suppose it is fine, however with Mount Gay eclipse as an option, this isn't worth the second look. Harsh and poorly developed flavors.

Posted over 4 years ago by Romain from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Ok to mix in binds specially for Cuba libres or mojito. This is where it tastes good. The taste is ok and not too strong in cocktails. I always prefer Bacardi rums for cocktails rather than captain Morgan

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I just don't like this rum. I bought it once, and barely drank any of it. I will likely never finish this bottle off. I don't like it even mixed.

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Only really fit for mixing when the flavour is highly masked.