Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893

Guatemala | Aged

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

7.0/10 (126 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
25
59
24
9
1

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


126 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

Une couleur généreuse et ensoleillé...très ron en bouche, des aromes de bois épicés sublimes, je ne regrette vraiment pas mon choix !!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

I was full of expectation when I bought Botran Solera 1893 Gran Reserva.

The smell is sweet with caramel and fruit. Some sticky alcohol too but that goes away after a few minutes in the glass.

The taste is sweet but it is too much spice and barrel for my taste. I expected it to be sweeter.

The aftertaste is long with spices and barrel. In my taste this is a blender that goes well in drinks and with cola. I don´t think it´s good as a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

It's nothing atypical of a rum. It's a very standard oaked vanilla rum with a lot of cinnamon/allspice in the back. Horrible straight. It acts like a nice guy in front of your girlfriend and then secretly tries to steal her when you're not expecting it. Basically it enters the mouth pretty smoothly and then a second or 2 later rains down like hell fire on your tongue, roof of mouth and back of throat. You must ice this one at a minimum or add cola. It makes a good rum and coke but for the price no thank you. I got this from a friend on a trip to mexico because it isn't sold in the states here. I would recommend cruzan gold over this. Very very similar, the only thing you might notice is the 40$ or you just saved.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

It's a very good rum, not too sweet like many rums of the region. Nose I got lot of caramel and dry fruits. Mouth is more mineral which I like but I think lacks of something to get a better rating, in that price range.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

I really don't like this, and am contemplating throwing it away. I've never considered doing that with ANY rum before. It has very few redeeming features. The nose is OK, and the initial fruit on the palate is OK, but then there is a really disgusting mish mash of flavours that almost makes me gag. I do wonder whether I have a bad bottle. The problem is that I will never buy this again and if it is a bad bottle, I won't know as I doubt any of my friends/colleagues will have a bottle of this.

I'll probably keep it and palm it off on unsuspecting visitors, but every time I open my drinks cupboard, I'll know the bottle is lurking in there.

Update - the bottle has now been open for a couple of years and I am finding it very palatable this evening. Possibly now that the weather has got a little chillier and I haven't turned on the heating, the rum is a touch colder than it has been in the past thus taking off the edges that I didn't like. It's not my favourite and I wouldn't buy again, but tonight I am really quite enjoying it.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a very nice rum. It uses wine casks as part of the solera. Intensely smooth no burn at all. No funky taste or harshness or overpowering notes. This is a great blend and I highly recommend this to anyone. The price point is amazing for this quality. Could easily drink an entire bottle of this in one sitting.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Erik Marum from United States with 32 ratings

My first experience with this was at a new year's party when someone brought this. I was curious and tried it. Loved it. Shocked it was a rum and have been into high quality sipping rums over whiskey ever since. This is such a nice balance of deep caramel and a touch of spice that leans towards a molasses flavor but just hints at it. I'm not a fan of molasses heavy rums and this gets right up to the edge for me but doesn't cross over into the heavy molasses flavors. This I can down neat or on the rocks. It's not the smootest, but the burn is pretty mild. The flavors are heavy up front and the finish is very slight and relatively lasting. This is a solid choice for whatever your purpose. Sip or mix it will go down well.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Ron Botran has much better stuff to offer than the 1893. It is not a neat sipper since the alcohol smell and taste are strong and the burn at the end is not pleasant. Go straight with the 12 or 15 year Botran if you are looking for a slightly better experience. They are not neat sippers either, but at least your rum-and-coke will have a better flavor to it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Welch ein Frust, von gleichen Brennerei wie der Zacapa,
aber leider völlig enttäuschend, schon des Preises wegen !
Kann hier aber nur die alte Abfüllung in der Tropfenform Flasche bewerten.
Etwas Frucht, Vanille und Toffeenoten in der Nase und Gaumen.
Der Abgang ist kaum wahrnehmbar.
Der Reserva ist um einiges besser !

What a fright, from the same distillery as the Zacapa,
But unfortunately completely disappointing, for the price!
Can only evaluate the old filling in the drop shape bottle.
Some fruit, vanilla and toffee nose and palate.
The finish is hardly perceptible.
The Reserva is a lot better!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Rum of molasses quite classic with pastry notes, almonds and fruity flavors. The oak is very present with vanilla. The final is not very long. A classic ron that should do the job on the rocks or with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

Taste caramel but not too sweet. Good daily rum. Really smooth.