Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seale 10-Year

Barbados | Aged

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

7.7/10 (221 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
14
66
90
35
7

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


221 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A no nonsense rum. RL Seale is setting the standard on how to create a delicious rum with no additives, correct age statement and all for a reasonable price, around £30 in the uk.

I love the bottle. Love the rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by NickTrop from United States with 1 rating

Enjoy your over-priced, over-aged, "premium" (added) sugar bomb rums people. Marvel at the beauty of that caramel coloring while your at it! This Richard Seale disciple and Foursquare fan says, "no thanks". This HONEST distiller -- accurate age statements, no additives, does not ruin his rum by over-aging it so he can over-charge the misinformed for it (rum is not scotch) is your "desert island distiller". This rum is simply perfection -- the gold standard, and priced at what rum SHOULD cost. Rum, neat, is my poison of choice. I've tried many -- not all, and have yet to find one that matches this at any price. Foursquare and its rum, especially its premium bottle (this one), has earned a permanent place on my shelf. When the bottle is empty, I drive to get another "fill-up", with the urgency of one whose gas tank is on "E". Life's too short for over-aged, caramel colored, over-priced, sugar added, flavors added crap that too often passes for rum these days. No need to look further -- this is, literally, the real deal. Mr Seale, I'm much obliged. Thank you, sir. Bless you.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

...it's $22 in New England. That is comically cheap for a world-class rum with pure (unadulterated) flavor, smooth body and very little afterburn. I love this stuff straight up, but at this price it's a perfect sipper, mixer, icer - whatever suits your fancy. You are spending how much for all the "Z" rums? Why?

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have been wanting to try this rum for quite some time but could not find any in this region. It took a trip to Jacksonville to get a bottle (and what a unique bottle it is). I'm glad I did.

In recent months I have read a lot about R. L. Seale and have come to admire his transparency and dedication to quality when it comes to rums produced by his company. All the ones under different names but produced by R. L. Seale & Company have been consistently good.

But I digress...

As I said this rum is not for the novice. It is a complex rum with a serious kick.

The color is a beautiful clear amber color. The aroma is outstanding and I seem to detect a hint of a fresh sugar cane fragrance. Maybe it's my imagination. I really don't know. I just know it smells good in my snifter. Swirling it in the snifter reveals great legs. It clings to the sides and slowly recedes leaving long tendrils of rum along the sides that manage to remain for a rather lengthy period of time.

It has layers of interesting flavors. For a brief time I detect buttery vanilla but that's replaced by a dry pepperiness with a multitude of spices (which I admittedly cannot distinguish specifics) within milliseconds. That dry pepperiness lasts for quite a while and there is a strong, but not overpowering burn in the back of my throat that slowly fades to a lingering warmth. This is clearly due to it being a tad stronger than typical rum (coming in at 86 proof [43% ABV]). The finish is rather dry. I also detect an oak undertone undoubtedly from tannins from the wood (it is, after all, a 10-year rum aged in used bourbon casks from what I have read) There is clearly no sugaring at all in this rum. Rather smooth yet dry. This is not a rum for those used to sweet rums. For those folks I could recommend this rum as a mixer. But for those who are into bourbon, scotch and whisky...especially those who like their bourbon, scotch and whisky neat...the R. L. Seale 10-year might be a rum appreciated by their palates. Personally I find this to be one of the most versatile rums on the market. I like it sipped straight (really, really small sips...anything more would be a little TOO much for me), with a little added water, with a single ice cube, in Coke Zero, and in adult beverages especially fruit-based adult beverages. Personally speaking I find the dryness and spices to be an excellent counter to citrus (including grapefruit juice) and pineapple juice. Even a dash of simple syrup brings out some of the flavoring one wouldn't detect with anything else.

An outstanding rum no matter how you take it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

This rum has a pretty rich and sweet smell that is similar to the Plantation brand but with a pronounced yet not overbearing alcohol scent. First taste shows a bitter oakyness that transforms into a faintly sweet flavor standard in Bajan rums. The alcohol burn is at the boundary of being harsh but mellows to a nice heat in the chest. The back end has a bit more of that wood flavor but mixes nicely with a caramel taste. Being relatively new to the rum game, this wouldn't be my first choice but I can see it staying in the rotation when looking for a nip with good flavor and a little bite. I like it. And at the price, you can't beat it. Go grab yourself one of these melted ass bottles and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

I think the first thing that surprised me was how short the bottle was. The pictures really make it look taller.

The nose has a tiny, tiny bit of astringency, but I didn't find anything off-putting in the taste. I'm actually at a loss to describe any specific flavors other than 'rum'. There's certainly nothing unpleasant or overbearing. I found it to be slightly fuller, in both taste and finish, than English Harbour 5. Not much of an aftertaste, though.

However, I'm most surprised that it's sweeter than what I expected, considering it doesn't have any added sugar or other flavourings. It goes to show what a quality product can taste like when you put a little time and effort into it.

Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gopal Kamath from United States with 6 ratings

Pure Rum.
0 % Additions. Non Enhanced.
100 % Evolution from Molasses to Bottle.
Drink It.
Stock Up on it.
Great Rum at a Good Price .

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

If you'r a die hard lover of the sweet(ened) Spanish style this might not tick your box, but this is a very fine example of the pure Barbadian rum. The nose is pleasing with light notes of tropical fruit, emphasized on banana. The palette is not as sweet as the nose, but nonetheless refined, especially considering the price. It's lightly oaky with rounded notes of leather, spices and butterscotch fading into a fairly long and oily finish. Once again thumbs up to mr. seale.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Steve Vogel from United States with 1 rating

I was presently surprised by this rum. It is on sale at Total Wine until 11/1/15
It was so good I went and bought three more bottles. One for a present. At $20
on sale it is a steal over the other aged rums especially 10 yr old Barbados rum.

I would buy this rum again in a heartbeat and it will likely be my go to rum
into the future.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by m keating from United States with 32 ratings

So, Total Wine & More opened a new store only 6 miles from my home! To celebrate this, R.L. Seals’ 10 Year was offered at a discount plus coupons that brought the cost down to less than $16! Now I had not had a taste of this rum so I ran home to try it out.

The unique bottle feels inviting in the hand and eye. It is apparently a design that is taken from the old leather sailor’s flask, not the result of a fire at the distillery, as I was told by a overeager stock boy. Foursquare Distillery will no doubt be relieved to know this.

Wonderful golden honey color in the glass, no hint of over sugared legs. But the first sip suggested a little time to air was a wise move. Not as harsh as you might think at 86 proof. I note some sweetness as well as caramel, vanilla, and oak to follow.

I have found a new go to rum and now I must hurry back to get more as the sale allows only one per day and I have not been back today yet!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum. 43% 86 proof.
i smell wood, i smell pepper. i smell some dried fruit with ginger. some vanilla.
i taste a meidum bodied rum with all the stuff a rum has to have. this is the center of a basic rum. great taste. pepper. vanilla. oak. fruit in the back.
9/10 - drop 5 points if you love it sweet.
that is real rum with no mistake. medium body, complex, all aromas of rum in there.
great show of rum aging in a bourbon cask.
add one point if you taste this rum at the new bottling of 46% (92 proof).

this rum belongs to my rum shelf every time. and the price of this jewel is a more than fair count!