Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak rum

Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak

Saint Lucia | Aged

8.0/10 (13 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
7
3

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Admiral Rodney HMS Royal Oak ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

St. Lucia Distillers introduce the Admiral Rodney Rum range, a selection of extra old Saint Lucian rum from Coffey still distillates that have been aged in American white oak Bourbon casks. HMS Royal Oak has a blend of rums matured for 7 to 12 years.

The new range honours the naval victory of Admiral George Rodney at Battle of the Saints in 1782 against the French, and each rum is named after ships that distinguished themselves in the battle.
Prune, grapes and spices initially with tobacco, chocolate, caramel and vanilla notes underneath.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Robert from Slovakia with 43 ratings

I got this as bday gift and was looking forward to taste it as the low local availability and price tag implied that this should be some extra ordinary stuff. I must honestly say it isnt. Dont get me wrong, its a great rum, nice sipper, smells fruity, vanilla like with just a little alcohol. However, the taste is too much liquor-ish with lots of orange flavors. Reminds me from far far away of Don Papa and Pyrat (although different in general but rum tasters will get me for sure). Quite a lot alcohol and afterburn. I had few glasses, one also with chocolate, one with cigar, and although it was a nice experience I am not planning on buying this one. Maybe I try it in the future, I am quite interested in others in HMS family

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Beautiful rum. Smooth, packed with flavour, complex finish. Love it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 112 ratings

Nose: Strong and spicy, maybe also some raisins and some molasses.
Palate: Warm and spicy, the spicy taste lasts for quite a while on the tongue. Nice.
But I miss some more „body“, it feels very „liquid“.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Lets start off with the design: it looks amazing! Nice bottle, interesting backstory and great colour of the drink itself.

The smell is not very prominent but there are some fruity elements in there to discover. Then the taste: again not very outspoken from the start but very, very smooth, without any too predominant sweetness or alcohol taste. Realy elegant and enjoyable. The aftertaste is spicy and has a nice duration. Remote but present burn, just the way I like it. Watch out, because this will be flying out of your glass! Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 11 ratings

this is the only one i've tried for the admiral rodney, i like it a lot , i ll try thebothersbones for sure

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

You should try this one more. Definitely a sipping rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I did a tasting of all their rums while at St Lucia, this was my favorite rum on the entire island. I would call this a honest rum aficionados libation. Very nice balance of flavors, with a slight hint of sweetness but you will have to look for it on the finish. Well worth the money spent. $60

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 7–12 years ex-bourbon. Less fruity than the Princessa, less aggressive than the Formidable and 1979. Pretty solid bourbon-aged column-still rum. A good step above the standard offering. 8-

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I tried the youngest of these three HMS rums from St. Lucia yesterday and figured that the next one up would be even better. Having known for many years what being "too long in the wood" does to distilled spirits, I still bought this more aged version anyway for $63 US. I don't regret it, but it's cheaper and younger HMS Princessa is smoother and better. This one is pepper on the tongue and a slight bitter after taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by laurent from France with 14 ratings

Très bonne surprise que ce rhum venu des îles de sainte Lucie!
Très bon équilibre entre les rhums antillais et ceux d’amériques Latines.
A tester de toute urgence!