Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10 (302 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
14
28
62
86
62
25
7
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

302 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

I love this rum for mixed drinks. The dark sweet and sugary taste makes it a great rum for the perfect piña colada.

My overall favorite for mixed drinks.

Not great for sipping. Unless you have had more than a few of the good one and you run out of other options. Way too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 16 ratings

This is the only dark rum most American bars carry. Not my favorite and I will drink a spiced over it.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

This is usually the best dark rum a bar may have, so I've had plenty of this over the years when ordering a rum and coke. I'm not a fan of spiced rum, but I like dark rum, so this is usually my best option at a cheap bar. Better than other similar priced rums for mixing, but not by a lot.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

But still not great. Again if this is the only rum the bar you're at mixes then run for the hills. Your bartender doesn't know anything.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

Molasses nose. Medium sweetness with a lot of molasses. No mouth burn, brown sugar and molasses finish. Love it!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Guter Standard für nen einfachen Jamaikaner. Greife inzwischen lieber zum Blackwell.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

For certain cocktails this is a required rum but not something id6drink everyday.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Rhun from United States with 14 ratings

This is a classic mixing rum, but I find it too heavy and too much of a molasses taste. I have other favorites for floating a mai tai.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

I was quite surprised by the strong flavor of brown sugar or molasses. It is really excellent in a rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by bigbpdx from United States with 1 rating

Great dark rum, smooth but strong flavor. My favorite dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Many a Planter’s Punch or rum cocktail used to be made with this in all the beach bars and hotels in JA (along with Wray Nephews overproof) 🤓. I am sure Air Jamaica used to serve miniatures of this as well as Appleton.