Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse Silver rum

Mount Gay Eclipse Silver

Barbados | Light

5.7/10 (21 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
7
7

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse Silver

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Mount Gay Eclipse Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

White, silver, plata, platino, blanco, however you want to say it . . . This is better than some and not as good as others. I like the Barbados rums, so I gave it a try - and it's pretty darn good.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Got a bottle of Mount Gay Eclipse Silver from a local grocery store on my last night here at Mexico City. Bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Strong alcohol and such a burn to your nose and palate. This is not a neat sipper due to such a strong burn, so mix it up with your favorite soda.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by iaramphal from United States with 8 ratings

Works well as a mixer. Not meant for sipping, and has a bit of a strange aftertaste neat. Does not leave the same taste when mixed, unlike the typical white rum brand one so often finds in a bar

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Torbs (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Why waste time with Bacardi (other white rums exist) when you can have this smooth and crisp version from the Barbados stable?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 32 ratings

Found this in my hotel room and gave it a go. If you just want a mixer to get a little alcohol it's not all that bad it has no flavor just alcohol and water.

Ffffff

Posted at Donut King over 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

It works fine for a mixer but it won’t change your life.
Possibly a good nightcap, because it kind of put me to sleep (and not in a fun ketamine kind of way....).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar: 0 GPL. Strong aroma of alcohol and a bit of coconut and citrus. Smooth enough but has a harsh burn and a slight chemical taste. Good rum for a mixed drink, but definitely not a sipper. Overall a good value.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

The mouthfeel is quite good, silky and thick without any sugar addition. While relatively low flavor, it does have a very pleasant caramelized quality to it that actually lingers for quite some time. Not at all a bad rum, and recommendable at around $15 a bottle. Would have it in mojitos and daiquiris, primarily. Maybe with cola or root beer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

Smells of alcohol...taste of alcohol, but not entirely. When I first had it, I used to say it wasn't much of anything, but alcohol. Its a sugary citrus kind of alcohol, however, and mixes quite well. Quite a bit of burn, its harsh, not a light rum. But it is a white and it is, what is, and does what I expect it to. Whites never get above a 6 from me. not much to them.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

It's a very good rum for white you can taste flavours in your mouth

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

My number one choice for mixing, (if I was rating it for sipping the rating would be lower). For a white spirit it is light on alcohol kick and if you are patient and search you pick pick up hints of tropical fruit, dried citrus, very slight coconut and vanilla.