Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

5548e60e495d20288341ba85538f3369.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I first had this rum back in the early 80's. While not stupendous I find it very approachable. O.K. for sipping but very good for mixing. For an easy cocktail 2 oz. with 6.oz. of Fever Tree on ice. Did not join the Mojito craze until very recently so I have limited experience with it and this brand but as I do not care for white rum find it a nice substitute. Mt. Gay Eclipse is also VG in juice based cocktails. Another simple suggestion is with Mango juice, which is readily available now a days.

7a26d2e023bf9608d2aaea04e106c275.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Good as a mixing rum in a Cuba Libra, not something I'd appreciate neat.

2f6a617308b9e59d2a0ef3f1243e2b21.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Don’t let the name fool you, it’s ok mixed or on its own, better than most rums solid choice

7b29cbcc8d664f37f09c1e45a71691cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Passie from Netherlands with 48 ratings

Not sharp and not soft, spices are in good balance.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Interesting but not special. Solid value and mixes well but would prefer more depth overall. Beware, sipping can numb your tongue.

554d05a611a2a60eb31346344cb7d170.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Tried neat in glencairn
Mouthfeel- light bodied
Palate- ethanol and molasses
Finish- a little spicy and decent ethanol bite

85ca13deba541a3e2079a9bb097c36db.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

enjoyed swimming in the leeward side of Barbados waters and drinking mount gay rum punch. balanced spices and versatile, this light dark rum mixes well with fruit juices or coca cola, especially in a beach/showers/restaurant environment that Barbados offers

0e53427916ebc269df4aea9503ca00dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

We mix it. We drink it straight. It goes in with a Diet Coke. What can I say? We are sailors. And sailors drink a lot of Mount gay rum eclipse!

35688fee6879e7348f476626422cbf24.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by John T from United States with 7 ratings

Can't say I've given this rum much of a chance. Just didn't give me what I thought I was going to get. After reading some of the reviews and going over it again I can see why I was wrong. This has a very estery flavor and aroma. My first nosing was highly reminiscent of nail polish remover, but I attributed it to ethanol. After some time rolling it around in my mouth it took on a much different character. This is the fruity funk you look for in Jamaican rum, but without the fullness of flavor and aroma you get from Smith & Cross. Still funky though. Added a splash of white rum to it and those esters cut through that like a hot knife through butter, but brought more than banana to the party. This rum will be an excellent addition to a painkiller or zombie.

77cf0ed7449cd0e9fa3840453dd341f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 64 ratings

very soft and velvety body. Not too sweet like Plantation. This is even sippable on its own like I am doing right now. Very slight boozyness...but nothing unbearable.
Good stuff