Posting your rating...
Don Q 2007 Signature Release Single Barrel rum

Don Q 2007 Signature Release Single Barrel

Puerto Rico | Aged

7.5/10 (15 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
9
1
3
1

Rate Don Q 2007 Signature Release Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Don Q 2007 Signature Release Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

It's like their Gran Reserva but smoother with way more oak flavor in the finish, it seems like they may have used wet bourbon casks for the aging. It’s kinda like a better executed Ron Del Barrilito 3 star. A definite Spanish/Cuban style that is peppery while also having the fruity flavor found in most Don Q offerings. This has a lot of similar flavors to Pampero Reserva Anniversario but is natural, smoother, and lighter. It has no bitter, or strange cloying flavors and it's easy to drink. Highly recommend it if you can find it.
Update: quite a while later and my in-laws brought me up a bottle from PR. It's so much like Pampero RE, yet finishes with a less syrupy body and light flavors of DonQ anejo. I would say better than Pampero RE for sure. Easy drinker, lots of molasses almost maple like flavor, smooth good stuff.

446d4b23a4cf7da4296ddb144029d0cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

I’ve been sitting in this bottle since the week of Christmas and am just cracking it open in August. I should have sooner!
Nose of smoked oak, very light esters. More oak, brown sugar and toffee. Bit of spice comes through with a hint of apple. Extremely light body for a rum of this age. Finish is extremely smooth and almost cooling. Little fruit and nuts and more of the smokey oak tannins coming through.
My first tasting of a Don Q rum and surely not my last. Grab a bottle while you can. This is with a doubt one of my new favorites. This is a fantastic spirit for rum or bourbon lovers.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Last drink for tonight was a Don Q Signature Release Single Barrel 2007 edition. Hard to find bottle. Very light golden color. Woody notes to the nose. Very much whisky like to the throat. Not a typical flavorful aged rum in my books, but will be very good for a whisky lover.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Very similar to the 2005, more wood, more char, more spicy, more caramel...Yet, I find the 2005 more well rounded.

02ce1476a9862e78e4ba9178f996d437.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 92 ratings

Sehr smooth ohne zu süss zu sein.
Sehr würzige Holzaromen in der Nase.
Im Mund dann ebenfalls etwas Holz, viel Vanille und Kramell mit dezenter süsse auf der Zunge.
Mittellanger weicher Abgang mit anhaltend würzger Holznote.
8.5/10

5b2b7f5e78868cc8cea2bf30221446fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Few months ago the global brand ambassador of don q did a tasting experience of 7 types of their rum in Maassluis the Netherlands. He held a very nice presentation. Showed lots of pictures of the distillery. This rum was in my opinion the most tastefull.

A9a5a303efb81d1f12388fe317121496.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 38 ratings

Für den Preis unschlagbarer single barrel. Ausgewogen

Fb0cc3b1e7724484d4d59caf32a543b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Schnatterer from Switzerland with 20 ratings

Very nice flavors. Price is more than fair taking into account that its a single barrel rum.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Portoriko
Aroma: Propolis, kůže, čokoláda, med, skořice, hřebíček, kandovaný pomeranč. (87 b)
Chuť: Překvapivě suchý, ale poměrně plný a svým výrazem "temný". Silný, kořenitý dojem, hořká čokoláda, dubové taniny. Působí silněji, než na 40% alkoholu. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Vůně je pro mě zajímavější, než chuť.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

I was so impressed with the after taste of Don Q 2005 that I picked up this 2007 today. It has more aroma than the 2005, namely fruit. On the palate are more flavors, namely fruit. The after taste is no match compared to that wonderful one from the 2005. Both are excellent rums worth checking out and both have no added sugar.

D9390e9aaf55543472eb272766eaa25c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Carles Latorre from United States with 15 ratings

Not good not bad, is like hungover sex, do you need it? No, do you like it? Mehhhh do you enjoy it? Sometimes...