Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (523 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
17
46
120
224
92
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


523 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

This is another rasin forward rum. If you are a fan of zafra, old monk and those styles of rum you’ll enjoy dos Madeira 5x5. May be the better smoother if the bunch. If you are looking for “traditional” rum taste this won’t be for you or me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Toto je naozaj nieco, co splna moje kriteria. Koniec je trosku stiplavejsi, ale zaroven ovocny, ceresnovy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by fens from Belgium with 10 ratings

belle découverte avec ce nectar
café chocolat et vanille et bien d'autres saveurs dans cette bouteille..
belle épaisseur en bouche

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

very similar to the Luxus. Not as deep & complex, but very similar sherry characteristics. This was $13/pour versus $40/pour for Luxus, and close. 88+

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 29 ratings

Rum určite nie je tuctový. Jeho chuť je výrazne drevitá (predpokladám po dubových sudoch). Osobne mi to ale dosť vadí. (možno aj to je dôvod, prečo nemám rád whisky).
V úvode cítiť jemnú a príjemnú sladkosť (vanilka, med, hrozienka) a v závere má pomerne dosť intenzívny alkoholový dozvuk. Farba je krásne tmavá jantárová a v pohári sa doslova trbliece.
Mám radšej sladšie rumy, pri väčších dúškoch pripomínal skoro whisky. to je aj dôvod prečo si ho už asi nekúpim. Je to ale o tom čo komu chutí. Na celovečerné pitie so švagrom by mal byť OK, ale u manželky s ním neuspejete :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pietro from Germany with 10 ratings

Ein sehr leichter Rum aber dennoch mit einer gewissen Eleganz. Im Mund ostber schnell weg aber man bekommt dennoch einige Noten von Holz, diverse Bitternoten und Melasse typische Geschmacksnoten.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Vliv sherry jasnej. Po polknutí cítim silnou dřevitost, ty sudy....zajímavý, hodně originální rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 101 ratings

Nice nosing with notes of caramel, burnt sugar and molasses. But the palate could not develop positively from that point. Having taken the first sip, the flavor notes revealed during the nosing turn off immediately only to give way to an extreme level of sweetness. This keeps on and the finish is also relatively short, leaving only the sweet (not fruity) flavor of sugar. So in my view somewhat disappointing as the nosing indicates that the molasses used have clearly some quality. The level of sweetness makes this rum suspicious for added sugar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Huerbsch from Panama with 2 ratings

Ultra smooth and sweet, almost to the point it is unbalanced (needs more character). I still thoroughly enjoyed it

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

I absolutely love this sipper, it’s smooth, no burn, and has hints of raisin, fig and vanilla. I love Demerara and Barbados, so I would compare this to El Dorado 12 or Plantation 20, which in case you didn’t know it are the 2 best sippers for the price, period. I don’t give a care if some folks say these are too sweet, it’s fine with me and still doesn’t have much sugar per ounce, maybe 1 gram or less. I enjoy a sweet sipper and this one is now in my top 5, Diplomatico Reserva being another. I also appreciate rums such as Foursquare Zinfandel, so I don’t just love sweet ones.