Posting your rating...
Cockspur VSOR 12-Year rum

Rate Cockspur VSOR 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 Cockspur VSOR 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Žádný zázrak (kór s ohledem na deklarované stáří), ale zase rozhodně neurazil, i když další zcela určitě už nikdy více nepopiji.

Posted about 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

I'm a dedicated fan of the bajan style. Not only because of the general taste, but also because it's often priced very reasonable and unless the rum is bottled by independent houses, it's sugar and aditiv free. The cockspur 12 carries many of the classic bajan traits. Your nostrils fills with coconut, vanilla and caramel, while retaining a frehness. On the tounge it's naturally semisweet with a bit of dark chocolate, tobaco, spices and perhaps a smidge of peach. It's not particularly refined and the finish is kinda short, but considering the price, that's all fair. It's absolutely sippable, but I would probably use it as a primium mixer. It's a good rum in the range but when it comes to value for money, you dont need to pay much more to get fx. the excellent Dorly's 12 fx.

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I am actually very surprised at how good this stuff is. In the glass it seems basic as any other rum, vanilla oak and the cask. Taking it straight is surprisingly good, very very smooth, almost made me doubt its 80 proof! Initially you're gonna get hit with a vanilla cask taste followed in with an earthy smokey taste. The flavor then bottoms out and changes to a Cinnamon/allspice flavor with sweetness in the back. My only desire with this rum is I wish it was bolder! It has all these great flavors and abilities but it is SO tame. if you pour this in cola most of it's flavors (except the cinnamon/allspice flavor) come out. Make it BOLDER! Get some gonads!

Posted over 4 years ago by royce from United States with 5 ratings

With my somewhat limited sampling of aged rums (10-15), I'm beginning to think there are two main categories, smokey and sweet. I would put this one on the smokey side, just barely. it has a good balance of a light sweetness and a little smoke for a great flavor. It's also pretty smooth and has more flavor neat than on the rocks. The price is pretty nice too.

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Slightly dry, a nice fruit taste, a bit medicinal at first, but that quickly fades.
It obviously is from Barbados, so if you like other Barbadian rums, you know what to expect. Good stuff! For those that love Mt Gay XO, this is very similar.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Posted 4 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Bought this stuff at the source. Very surprised, i went into it half hearted but was pleasantly astonished at how good it was for the price. This is a full bodied rum, not sweet or tampered with in any fashion. I would recommend it neat or with a rock. Enjoy you sum uh dis.... Tasty stuff..

Posted 6 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Pro mě excelentní vůně, poté co jsem ochutnal přes 80 druhů rumu začínám oceňovat výš ty bez cukru, díky kterého se kryjí neduhy, podobně jako u vína. Jen proto, že mi MountGay XO chutná o něco více a dostal 9 bodů, dávám Cockspuru 8+. Snad jen o chvilku déle v sudu a byla by alkoholová stopa jemnější. Což mu tady vytýkají ti co mají raději sirupy. Ztratil by ale svůj úžasný charakter nedoslazovaného rumu. Výborný rum za skvělé peníze.

Posted 8 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

I kinda dig this! Coming from the world of bourbon I feel this one makes that whiskey to rum transition really nice. Shares some of the same characteristics on the nose/palate of wheater. Very dry. One thing notably present here... OAK! I prefer higher proof spirits but 40% ABV isn't bad sipping neat. Going to mix this one in blind with a Larceny and Weller SR to see who can win "One Of These Things Is Not Like The Others".

Posted 8 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Just does not have the balance of other aged bajan rums. Doorleys is a better option imo. more available in the states for a reasonable price.

Posted 8 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...totally fine, yet nothing memorable.

It smells fresh, but the taste on the other hand does not convince for another bottle.

Try it as a premium mixer

6.0 to a 6.25

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Oddly chemical note in the overall taste. No additives, but...it isn't the finest out there.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For something so cheap, it's surprisingly rich, smooth, lots of flavor, sweet.

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Nice nose but not a real sipper, a bit overpowering on the alcohol side. A great blend of sweets with just a bit of spice. The malty background adds the perfect touch making this a great value in my bar. Have not put it in a blender yet but expect it to add a different taste when replacing spiced rums.

Posted about 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Nice arome with warm tones, confirmed also during first taste. Full complex and smooth body, with shery tones, almost not burning. Aftertaste not bad, but very short.

Posted about 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Typicky Barbadosan. V chuti spociatku sladky (avsak bez pridaneho cukru), potom suchy, melasa, ovocny a lahky. Velmi dobre sa pije, uz som si objednal dalsi :) Za mna urcite 8+ a viac

Posted about 1 year ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

https://rumtips.cz/recenze/cockspur-12-tajemny-kohout-z-barbadosu/

Posted about 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Nose and palate tells you that this unquestionably is a Bajan rum. The nose and palate is a little bit weak and the afterburn is medium long. It isn’t as complex as and can’t really compete with the brands from R.L. Seales and the Foursquare distillery with the same ageing.
It’s price around 25€ makes it very pricewhorty and makes it a very competitive everyday rum.
Picture: My Bajan shelf.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Bought a bottle of Cockspur VSOR 12y Rum for the New Years Eve while vacationing in Martinique. Cheap bottle and label design. Cheap at the local grocery store at EUR 17 per bottle. Cheap whisky flavors, plenty of oak and vanilla followed by a nasty burn. Better mix this one up.

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Sweet aroma with hints of wood and black tea.
Taste is full sherrylike sweet and mild. Finish is also sweet reminding El Dorado 12

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Since I am a fan of Cockspur 5-Star, I was wanting to try it's older brother from a well stocked rum bar. Out of the five pours of one half ounce each, this one was the second worst. I could not even finish it due to it's bitterness from spending too long of a time in the wood. I am glad that I could not find an entire bottle to waste my money on.

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Amber colour. The nose is on chocolate, the wax of old furniture. Light notes of banana, candied fruit, toffee, coffee, cherry with alcohol. On the palate, it is very fine, delicate, always chocolate, tobacco. It is also acidic with bitterness. It's not very long and the final is on red fruits, brown sugar, caramel. Beautiful discovery, in line with Mount Gay rum but with his own style.

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I had a two ounce glass from Bahama Breeze. It’s ok even though I gave it a 6. It’s not something I would run to the store and buy a bottle. Just not for me.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lembu from Finland with 7 ratings

After reading some good reviews i was waiting for this one. Vanilla scent is too strong and artificial, it dominates the taste even if you try to mix it with coke. Can't really recommend, even in this price range.

Posted over 2 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Wonderful aroma. Slightly sweet on the palette with vanilla at the forefront. Dark fruit comes in afterward and a nice warm finish. I’d definitely consider a bottle.

Posted over 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Well worth having in your cabinet to be sipped neat or mixed this rum has a pleasant oaky aromatic about it with undertones of vanilla smooth with body share with friends or enjoy by yourself thumbs up 👍