Posting your rating...
Six Saints Gold rum
Six Saints Gold rum

Six Saints Gold

Grenada | Aged

6.5/10 (50 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
12
16
4
4
2

Rate Six Saints Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


50 Six Saints Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Hailing from the island of Grenada this rum came to me via Total Wine and More out of Jacksonville, Florida. Kind of a roundabout way of getting here.

However this was a rum I was not familiar with so in the interest of adventure I got a bottle to bring home. It has an interestingly pleasant aroma with a bit of alcohol astringency to it. Stings the nostrils just a bit. Not surprisingly since it comes in 41.7% ABV which is a little higher than typical rums. It is a golden straw color and swirling it my snifter leaves it clinging to the sides only to slowly drift back down to the bottom. Nice legs.

It has a rather complex flavor. I seem to detect banana at the beginning. There clearly are other flavors in there but I really cannot pick them apart before the burn hits. Sipping more seems to bring forth some citrus undertones...something akin to orange zest. The finish does bring back that banana flavor. A rum fit for Minions I guess. A little too harsh as a sipping rum in my opinion but good as a mixer.

45d2fa389d8976e6cec15315ed3d77c2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

This will drown thw sorrows tonight. Good taste, good alcohol percentage. Pretty good rum!!

C0730f91cfbc512c328da12fa41f2377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Malarf from Netherlands with 3 ratings

I like the pleasant smell. Not too heavy, more light.
Easy to sip and enough flavour to stand as a drink alone.
Maybe you can mix this one as well.

As it is from Grenada it's got to identify Grenada style. A little bit spicy in the after taste.

81955d40fc22858050b02dfb9a9401f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Dhanthagueul from France with 1 rating

Des parfums et des gouts surprenant. Peu de rhum de ce prix valent autant le cout d'etre dégustés que celui là. Au nez, on retrouve même des ressemblances avec avec certains jamaïcains d'exception (hampden par exemple). Ce rhum merite d'être plus connu. C'est une excellente surprise!

1fab6f0c7c1e5fd48ef562b973315d50.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 days ago by kbill from Romania with 22 ratings

but not too good either. Should be taken in moderation, and is one that will hardly find diehard fans.

028e632551d40b4e566f5d17f446fc91.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 26 days ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Není sladký ani příliš suchý, tak něco mezi. I když mám radši sladší, tenhle není až tak marný.

A9f88b26c61d6c2e7479643a45b93874.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 32 ratings

Compared it to Santiago de Cuba which is a lot cheaper and Ron de Abuelo 12y in the same price range and it came out at the bottom. I like the smell but it dissapoints on the taste, maybe that's the citrus part i don't like.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I finally got my hands on a bottle of rum from Grenada. I had not been to the spice island in almost 30 years, so scoring this rum for me has been on my wish list for a long time.

It certainly stands out from all of the other rums. Nowhere on the label does it say that it is a rhum agricole, which probably came from it's neighbor of Martinique almost 200 miles to the north. I will just have to trust fellow reviewers who have stated that it is an agricole, along with my own experience. If no one had told me, I would have to say that it is a mildly spiced agricole, since I taste no molasses at all. It is VERY different from all other rums. You will either love it or hate it. I don't quite love it, but I certainly don't hate it. The aroma is too complex and alien compared to what I am used to. Definitely worth keeping on hand for a change of pace. Super smooth!

Update March 4, 2019: This is not a rum that I would return to often because it is just so weird. On the other hand, if you want to impress your friends with a rum that is uniquely different, then by all means go for this one. I tried to create a drink with the right mix to include this one and I just could not. Being one that can save all but the rot got from going down the drain, this was quite a disappointment. VERY unique!!! Not terrible, but it does not warrant a repeat purchase. It now drops from my initial rating of 7 to a 6.

C87b978af1588931c00446896cc2a472.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by CSG from United States with 24 ratings

Has a good flavor overall but the citrus is too heavily grapefruit for me. I actually don’t think it’s overpriced if you like a citrusy agricole style, but I didn’t get the banana flavor (I did get the smell) nearly as much as others are saying here (and I usually like the flavor).

Db5608b0a3c016f39871d0288792c0db.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

This rum is nothing special for me, i dont need to have it at home in my bar.

21e666dfdc97766f7456b10cf58a1e34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Ojkush from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Little bit to sharp on the beginning but the taste afterwards is fine!