Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron rum

Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron

Puerto Rico | Light

6.1/10 (27 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
3
10
8
2

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. Surprisingly good white rum! Citrus and apple and pear notes in taste and aroma. Very smooth taste without the harsh burn or chemical tastes of the lower end white rums from Bacardi. This is one of the few white rums that could be a sipping rum as well as a high end mixer.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

As far as column distillates go, this is nice. Definitely mellow, with a classy quality that is hard to describe. It flows very eloquently across the palate, and fades with a pleasant toasty aftertaste. Overall very mild for my taste, but nice to have on hand, and nice to taste every once in a while. A classier daiquiri or Mary Pickford, maybe?

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Maarten Jan from Netherlands with 6 ratings

An OK rum for a light rum.
Much better than most Bacardi products. But that's not very hard

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

I actually don’t mind the standard Bacardi white rum, but I bought this expecting a step up and was let down pretty heavily. Doesn’t feel special at all

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I remember seeing lots of good reviews on here when this first was released, but the $26 price tag kept me away. So, as I was walking through a newly opened wine and spirits clearance store near me, I saw plenty of these bottles going for only $13. Many of you already know that I absolutely hate Bacardi, but I also cannot pass up a good bargain when recommended by fellow reviewers.

I poured an ounce into the snifter and let it breathe for about 15 minutes. No burn at all. The aromas were minimal. Super smooth tasting. Then I noticed lots of legs in the glass from being very viscous. I later found out that it has 16 gpl of added sugar. This is just one teaspoon shy of this rum being classified as "Sweet". This was obviously created to compete with the ever popular Plantation 3 Star Artisinal, which has 13 gpl of added sugar. Both rums are very similar. However, the Plantation is still a better value for a full liter. If you see a bottle of this rum for $17 or less, give it a try. I would not buy it again because I am getting away from rums with added sugars. However, the taste is good enough to sip neat, and not many white rums are capable of this. For those that hated this one, you must have gotten bottles from a bad batch.

This rum got me to thinking that once a company creates a bad reputation for itself, there is not much they can do to bring that reputation back up. No one is buying this effort of a rum, which is why lots of it is on clearance. Also, it is now apparent that it takes a fair amount of added sugar to improve a bad rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Billy from United States with 1 rating

Bacardi makes a decent clean drink - good neat and a terrific mixer. Price point is right and the corked special edition is a nice addition to your bar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Audun Kvinnesland from Norway with 1 rating

Bought the bottle to use for mixing drinks that should have white rum. Was surprised that the taste was smoother and cleaner than I had expected. Think there is some good rums comming from Bacardi even if they are doomed by a lot of people.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

A step up from their normal white rum. Still not really special but not a bad choice, would go for something else if i was looking for white rum and had a choice!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Si quieres darle categoría a tu cockteles, este es el ron que te hará parecer un barman profesional.
Un sabor peculiar acompañado de la frescura de un buen ron Bacardi.
100% para el luau de verano

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 141 ratings

Offering subtle notes of plum, spice, caramel and vanilla. The palate is smooth with a well-balanced and clean finish. Great for mixing or sipping on its own. Slow filtered and aged for three years for added complexity and smoothness. From the many rums that I own ,this is the one my wife will drink.