Posting your rating...
Calypso Spiced rum

Calypso Spiced

Barbados | Spiced

4.8/10 (13 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
2
1
2

Rate Calypso Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 Calypso Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I'm on a roll, trying all of the rum with a female pirate or sultry woman on the bottle. I put this one a bit above Blackheart, it's fairly smooth, the usual vanilla and a nice looking bottle for the shelf for my swashbuckling drinking friends. Maybe the best rum out of the island nation of Louisville KY. Like I said, baught it for the label, I'll finish it eventually but it won't be my go to mixer.

Small 20201009 235624

Posted 4 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

Say you only have ten dollars on hand and you want to get something to lift your spirits? Your in luck. Calypso is about to do just that. At a relatively cheap price, you can rarely do better. You normally expect a horrid spiced rum at such a low price yet you'll be rewarded with a fine but basic tasting rum. Its nothing special but its not bad either. When swirled it has some nice legs. Better as an ingredient/mixer of course.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Patty from United States with 1 rating

We usually drink Admiral Nelson's Spiced Rum but our liquor store was out! Having tried all of the others and most tasted like cough medicine, went for something I hadn't seen before. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. It is very similar to Admiral, vanilla forward with a smooth finish. The flavor was a bit subdued but for the price, you can't go wrong.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is one of those times I tried to be adventurous and give a new rum a chance, in spite of my better judgement. I was surprised that it wasnt awful. The cheesy packaging worried me, but it wasnt awful. Just another average spiced rum that is a good value. Save it for the guy that everyone knows who can drink jet fuel and be happy.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by YohoYoho from United States with 10 ratings

This one hits with a lot of vanilla. Have used it mainly for mixing, not something I would normally drink straight. But considering I can get it for six dollars a liter, I’m not expecting a sipper. It does well in mixed drinks/rum and Coke’s. For mixing, at this low of a price, I feel it is perfectly acceptable and a good value.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Really good value. Decent mixer. It’s ok. I think it might be better than the Captain or the Admiral.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Burn and sink me this be an odd rum! On the nose, she smells sweet and fruity like apples - of all things! On the tongue, she be a little tart. The apple taste still be there, but barely, and there also be a powerful grassy taste to her. Not having hooves, I could not fully appreciate the grassiness of this rum. There be no real spices to speak of - unless "pepper grass" be a thing. Might this be a sippin' rum? I say no, but you could probably do worse. To put it another way, "mooooooo"...

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by BadgerRumFan24 from United States with 10 ratings

Do you like Captain? This is a slightly tastier and smoother version, and likely less expensive everywhere. Going to drink a few or more rum and cokes with a group? Bring this.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 181 ratings

Sampled this rum after sampling Oakheart Spiced rum and found th3 flavours to b3 very similar. Not a bad rum but definitely a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Calypso Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks silly and cheap. Pure alcohol and nasty artificial flavors to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Mix it up for your own sanity.