Posting your rating...
Calypso Spiced rum

Calypso Spiced

Barbados | Spiced

4.9/10
15 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
3
1
2

Rate Calypso Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

15 Calypso Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I'm on a roll, trying all of the rum with a female pirate or sultry woman on the bottle. I put this one a bit above Blackheart, it's fairly smooth, the usual vanilla and a nice looking bottle for the shelf for my swashbuckling drinking friends. Maybe the best rum out of the island nation of Louisville KY. Like I said, baught it for the label, I'll finish it eventually but it won't be my go to mixer.

Small 20201009 235624

Posted almost 5 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

Say you only have ten dollars on hand and you want to get something to lift your spirits? Your in luck. Calypso is about to do just that. At a relatively cheap price, you can rarely do better. You normally expect a horrid spiced rum at such a low price yet you'll be rewarded with a fine but basic tasting rum. Its nothing special but its not bad either. When swirled it has some nice legs. Better as an ingredient/mixer of course.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Patty from United States with 1 rating

We usually drink Admiral Nelson's Spiced Rum but our liquor store was out! Having tried all of the others and most tasted like cough medicine, went for something I hadn't seen before. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. It is very similar to Admiral, vanilla forward with a smooth finish. The flavor was a bit subdued but for the price, you can't go wrong.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is one of those times I tried to be adventurous and give a new rum a chance, in spite of my better judgement. I was surprised that it wasnt awful. The cheesy packaging worried me, but it wasnt awful. Just another average spiced rum that is a good value. Save it for the guy that everyone knows who can drink jet fuel and be happy.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 420 ratings

Back when I submitted three reviews for "trash" rums just to get my next badge, this was also one of those bought for this purpose, but it was never opened and reviewed. Well I opened it yesterday and to my surprise, it was not trash and sold for only $7 US per bottle. This is a pleasant tasting mildly spiced rum at only 70 proof from Louisville Kentucky that was probably imported from the U.S. Virgin Islands or Barbados.

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 8 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 87 ratings

Picked up a bottle in Florida for an agreeable price. Not exactly bursting with flavour, but not much wrong with it. Great with coke and ice on a baking hot day.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by YohoYoho from United States with 11 ratings

This one hits with a lot of vanilla. Have used it mainly for mixing, not something I would normally drink straight. But considering I can get it for six dollars a liter, I’m not expecting a sipper. It does well in mixed drinks/rum and Coke’s. For mixing, at this low of a price, I feel it is perfectly acceptable and a good value.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 202 ratings

Really good value. Decent mixer. It’s ok. I think it might be better than the Captain or the Admiral.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 76 ratings

Burn and sink me this be an odd rum! On the nose, she smells sweet and fruity like apples - of all things! On the tongue, she be a little tart. The apple taste still be there, but barely, and there also be a powerful grassy taste to her. Not having hooves, I could not fully appreciate the grassiness of this rum. There be no real spices to speak of - unless "pepper grass" be a thing. Might this be a sippin' rum? I say no, but you could probably do worse. To put it another way, "mooooooo"...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by BadgerRumFan24 from United States with 10 ratings

Do you like Captain? This is a slightly tastier and smoother version, and likely less expensive everywhere. Going to drink a few or more rum and cokes with a group? Bring this.